5,606,530 Members 33,619 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help: The wifi doesn't work, and the mac address is 00:00:00:00:00:00

Tip us?
 
meow-xda
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Help: The wifi doesn't work, and the mac address is 00:00:00:00:00:00

my device is e980, I flash some roms (carbon, beanstalk BS_homony)and found that the wiif doesn't work except on the stock rom and the slimbean rom, the mac address is 00:00:00:00:00:00. I google it and changed the /data/misc/wifi/config file with modify the cur_etheraddr=23:dd:88:99:c2:e4. When I reboot, the wifi still doesn't work and the cur_etheraddr=00:00:00:00:00:00. I don't konw how to fix it, anyone who can help me, thanks a lot!!!!
 
tomi001
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jul 2012
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2419802
First try to flash the stock rom
And then try again with custom roms.
 
christran12
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fullerton, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by meow-xda View Post
my device is e980, I flash some roms (carbon, beanstalk BS_homony)and found that the wiif doesn't work except on the stock rom and the slimbean rom, the mac address is 00:00:00:00:00:00. I google it and changed the /data/misc/wifi/config file with modify the cur_etheraddr=23:dd:88:99:c2:e4. When I reboot, the wifi still doesn't work and the cur_etheraddr=00:00:00:00:00:00. I don't konw how to fix it, anyone who can help me, thanks a lot!!!!
I ran into this same problem and after many attempts at after market ROMs, C10.1 and 11, I had to go back to stock. Was never able to figure this out and it seems like not too many people ran into it.
 
christran12
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Fullerton, CA
Hey, I was able to get it working with the latest nightly CM build. The way I did it was to do a dirty flash on top of the LG stock Rom and then do a Data/Cache Reset. Now I'm not sure if it's been fixed in the CM build itself or if it was the dirty flash, but it's been running great so far.
 
arifqur
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 1,606
Join Date: Nov 2005
I did not have the 0.0..... mac address problem in the latest CM11 nighlies but the wifi would not work.
After many reflashes I found that if in settings>wifi>advanced>region code I checked any country, the wifi would start working immediately.
Although the setting did not stick on reboot.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes