XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Verizon users - Got KitKat? Yes/No/Location

OP Takenover83

5th February 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #1  
Takenover83's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 405
 
839 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
I see it is rolling out. But how does this process work? It has yet to hit my Moto G.
as of 02/04/2014 - 7PM EST
USA/Indiana/Eastern Timezone.

If you have recieved the update, where are you located?
5th February 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #2  
raymond4's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag millville new jersey
Thanks Meter: 338
 
1,578 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Still waiting for the update

Sent from my XT1028 using Tapatalk
5th February 2014, 01:30 AM   |  #3  
TotesMyGoats's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connersville
Thanks Meter: 39
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
No update yet. I'm from Indiana too.

Sent from my RCT6378W2 using Tapatalk
5th February 2014, 02:20 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
It's here, it's here...
A 247+ MB software update is now downloading off of my Verizon prepaid legacy plan. With UNLIMITED DATA, I am downloading it off of my Droid 3's WiFi tether because they wouldn't let me activate this Moto G without changing to a new metered data plan (FU&% that). I am from Altona NY (near Canada).
5th February 2014, 06:55 AM   |  #5  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
These updates usually take 1-2 weeks to roll out to all devices.

Sent from my Moto G
5th February 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Tuscaloosa
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Received KK update 2/4 around 10 am c.t. Located in Birmingham Alabama.
5th February 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #7  
Takenover83's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 405
 
839 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctoberNexus

These updates usually take 1-2 weeks to roll out to all devices.

Sent from my Moto G

Yes, but manually checking you would think would trigger the update. I should note, I have been checking over WiFi. Anyone able to pull the update from cache? Maybe the rest of the world can get it a bit faster that way?
5th February 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
418 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
East coast/CT - booted up my phone last night and had the update notification - now on 4.4.2.
I use it on WiFi only- never activated on Verizon. I just turn airplane mode on, then WiFi on, except if I want to use the FM radio, in which case I turn airplane mode off.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to kisrita For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #9  
OctoberNexus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boulder, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 21
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kisrita

East coast/CT - booted up my phone last night and had the update notification - now on 4.4.2.
I use it on WiFi only- never activated on Verizon. I just turn airplane mode on, then WiFi on, except if I want to use the FM radio, in which case I turn airplane mode off.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium HD app

I use mine similarly but I never even bother putting it in Airplane mode.

Sent from my Moto G

---------- Post added at 08:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takenover83

Yes, but manually checking you would think would trigger the update. I should note, I have been checking over WiFi. Anyone able to pull the update from cache? Maybe the rest of the world can get it a bit faster that way?

No it certainly shouldn't, there is a good piece on reddit by Google Engineer Dianne Hackborn as to why that's not the case, even manually checking doesn't change your spot in line.

Sent from my Moto G
5th February 2014, 03:31 PM   |  #10  
Takenover83's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 405
 
839 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Can you provide a link? I wouldn't mind reading it. I figure it was location based that determined your spot in line.

Edit: Found it via Google. Article mentions side loading via adb for the impatient. But I don't see the update anywhere.

Sent from my XT1028 using Tapatalk
Last edited by Takenover83; 5th February 2014 at 06:15 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes