5,605,835 Members 47,611 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CMB 4.4.2 Where are my widgets!

Tip us?
 
SGKen
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default CMB 4.4.2 Where are my widgets!

Due to the rules of the board, I can't post this in the Developer section until I have 10 posts. I have searched and have been unable to find any information about it.

I have installed CMB 4.4.2 according to thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2577165

and had numerous problems, reinstalled several times. One that I haven't been able to figure out is the Widgets section is missing from the All Apps screen. Is it hiding somewhere else?

Thanks,
Ken
 
lj50036
Old
#2  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 798
Posts: 960
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boone, Iowa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by SGKen View Post
Due to the rules of the board, I can't post this in the Developer section until I have 10 posts. I have searched and have been unable to find any information about it.

I have installed CMB 4.4.2 according to thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2577165

and had numerous problems, reinstalled several times. One that I haven't been able to figure out is the Widgets section is missing from the All Apps screen. Is it hiding somewhere else?

Thanks,
Ken
I need a little more info....

What bootloder are you on??
What recovery are you using??
What gapps did you flash??


The more info you can provide, The better help you can get..Let me know...Thx lj
 

My Currently Supported ROMS
Current Devices
TF700T: Running CROMBi-kk4.4.2
TF300T: Running CMB4.4.2
M7_VZW: Running CMB4.4.2
MANTA: Rooted Stock (4 now)
OTTER: Running CMB4.4.2

 
SGKen
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036 View Post
I need a little more info....

What bootloader are you on??
What recovery are you using??
What gapps did you flash??


The more info you can provide, The better help you can get..Let me know...Thx lj
I had been using TWRP (since I was on Cromi-X) but replaced it with the Philz. Here are the files I used from the download page associated with the thread.

philz_tf700t_recovery_v6.12.8.zip
cmb_tf700t-ota-20140130.zip
cm-4.4-20140114-cmb4.4.2-tf700t.zip
cmb_kkgapps_20131209.zip

One thing I'm not clear on is the bootloader. I thought it was part of the Philz Recovery or any of the recoveries). Looking in the About Tablet.... I'm not seeing it.
Booting into FastBoot I see (in tiny writing!):
Android cardhu-user bootloader <1.00e> released by "US-epad-10.6.1.14.10-20130801" A03
So I guess the answer would be 10.6.1.14.10

I followed the instructions in post 82 (quoted below) though I don't know what TBupdate.zip was and didn't see it available for download so that step wasn't followed.

" Originally Posted by Narsil View Post
Hi,

I've read all this (not too long) thread, looks good !

So, small checklist before I proceed (from CROMi / TWRP 2.6.1.0 / booloader 10.6.1.14.10), thanks to confirm / correct / add :

- All nanos, TB backups, TBupdate.zip and app's specific backups done
- Flash philz_tf700t_recovery_v6.12.8.zip, reboot
- Factory reset, flash cm-4.4-20140114-cmb4.4.2-tf700t.zip, reboot
- Flash cmb_tf700t-ota-20140130.zip, TBupdate.zip, cmb_kkgapps_20131209.zip, reboot
- Restore apps and backups, enjoy

Am I right ?

I'm a hard TF700+dock daily user, expect feedbacks !

Thanks

Diego
That looks great... Once in recovery you will get 2 options in factory reset do the one that says going to install new rom... Other than that you look good to go"



Another problem- I had made a Nandroid backup of my apps (Data) from TWRP on Cromi-X but when I tried to bring them back there was one small error (after setting the Backup-Advanced to TWRP mode, since it wouldn't find the backup set) but it would complete. I didn't write the error down. When rebooted, it would never finish booting so I gave that up and figured I would just have to re-download all the apps. That's when I found that the widget tab was missing.

Thanks,
Ken
 
lj50036
Old
#4  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 798
Posts: 960
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boone, Iowa

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGKen View Post
I had been using TWRP (since I was on Cromi-X) but replaced it with the Philz. Here are the files I used from the download page associated with the thread.

philz_tf700t_recovery_v6.12.8.zip
cmb_tf700t-ota-20140130.zip
cm-4.4-20140114-cmb4.4.2-tf700t.zip
cmb_kkgapps_20131209.zip

One thing I'm not clear on is the bootloader. I thought it was part of the Philz Recovery or any of the recoveries). Looking in the About Tablet.... I'm not seeing it.
Booting into FastBoot I see (in tiny writing!):
Android cardhu-user bootloader <1.00e> released by "US-epad-10.6.1.14.10-20130801" A03
So I guess the answer would be 10.6.1.14.10

I followed the instructions in post 82 (quoted below) though I don't know what TBupdate.zip was and didn't see it available for download so that step wasn't followed.

" Originally Posted by Narsil View Post
Hi,

I've read all this (not too long) thread, looks good !

So, small checklist before I proceed (from CROMi / TWRP 2.6.1.0 / booloader 10.6.1.14.10), thanks to confirm / correct / add :

- All nanos, TB backups, TBupdate.zip and app's specific backups done
- Flash philz_tf700t_recovery_v6.12.8.zip, reboot
- Factory reset, flash cm-4.4-20140114-cmb4.4.2-tf700t.zip, reboot
- Flash cmb_tf700t-ota-20140130.zip, TBupdate.zip, cmb_kkgapps_20131209.zip, reboot
- Restore apps and backups, enjoy

Am I right ?

I'm a hard TF700+dock daily user, expect feedbacks !

Thanks

Diego
That looks great... Once in recovery you will get 2 options in factory reset do the one that says going to install new rom... Other than that you look good to go"



Another problem- I had made a Nandroid backup of my apps (Data) from TWRP on Cromi-X but when I tried to bring them back there was one small error (after setting the Backup-Advanced to TWRP mode, since it wouldn't find the backup set) but it would complete. I didn't write the error down. When rebooted, it would never finish booting so I gave that up and figured I would just have to re-download all the apps. That's when I found that the widget tab was missing.

Thanks,
Ken

You did do a full wipe before the first rom flash, and you did install gapps after the OTA??

The widgets is a long hold on the home screen....
 

My Currently Supported ROMS
Current Devices
TF700T: Running CROMBi-kk4.4.2
TF300T: Running CMB4.4.2
M7_VZW: Running CMB4.4.2
MANTA: Rooted Stock (4 now)
OTTER: Running CMB4.4.2

 
SGKen
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036 View Post
You did do a full wipe before the first rom flash, and you did install gapps after the OTA??

The widgets is a long hold on the home screen....
I did the one mentioned as "factory reset do the one that says going to install new rom".

A long press on the home screen... Is that documented somewhere since I didn't expect it there. Yup, there they are, thanks!

On my Nexus 4 phone, 4.4.2, the widgets are as a tab where I have seen them in previous releases of the (standard) OS.

What is the OTA by the way?

Thanks again,
Ken
 
SGKen
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGKen View Post
I did the one mentioned as "factory reset do the one that says going to install new rom".

A long press on the home screen... Is that documented somewhere since I didn't expect it there. Yup, there they are, thanks!

On my Nexus 4 phone, 4.4.2, the widgets are as a tab where I have seen them in previous releases of the (standard) OS.

What is the OTA by the way?

Thanks again,
Ken
Curiously enough, I put Nova Launcher on a bit ago and the Widgets tab showed up where I expected it to be....

Ken
 
lj50036
Old
#7  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 798
Posts: 960
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Boone, Iowa

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Move

Can we move this to the Q&A Section just for this rom... I just set it up here is a link Q&A Forum Thx lj
 

My Currently Supported ROMS
Current Devices
TF700T: Running CROMBi-kk4.4.2
TF300T: Running CMB4.4.2
M7_VZW: Running CMB4.4.2
MANTA: Rooted Stock (4 now)
OTTER: Running CMB4.4.2


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more

UnbelovedHosts Uses Xposed to Block Unwanted Connections

First popularized by mvps, hosts-based ad blocking has become the de facto standard … more

March of the Droids 2014 Just Two Weeks Away; It’s Not Too Late to Register

If you want to attend an Android developers’ … more

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more