5,605,250 Members 38,576 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cant connect to the internet

Tip us?
 
bhiga
Old
#21  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 563
Posts: 1,591
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
What build number does the Chromecast app say your Chromecast has?

Maybe try moving your Chromecast away from the TV?
Use the HDMI extender or extension cable.

Or you can try powering up Chromecast without connecting to a TV and see if the LED goes solid white.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:37 PM ----------

You can't set a static IP on stock Chromecast but you should bee able to set a DHCP reservation in your router.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
MoNsTeReNeRgY22
Old
#22  
MoNsTeReNeRgY22's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 339
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
What build number does the Chromecast app say your Chromecast has?

Maybe try moving your Chromecast away from the TV?
Use the HDMI extender or extension cable.

Or you can try powering up Chromecast without connecting to a TV and see if the LED goes solid white.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:37 PM ----------

You can't set a static IP on stock Chromecast but you should bee able to set a DHCP reservation in your router.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.
So before you replied I set up my phone as a hotspot and connected the CC to that just to verify it would connect. It did and updated to the latest version. So I connected it back to my main network, and it worked! I guess the update fixed something, but whatever it is, I am just happy it works again! Thanks again for your help, I really appreciate it!
 
bhiga
Old
#23  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 563
Posts: 1,591
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoNsTeReNeRgY22 View Post
So before you replied I set up my phone as a hotspot and connected the CC to that just to verify it would connect. It did and updated to the latest version. So I connected it back to my main network, and it worked! I guess the update fixed something, but whatever it is, I am just happy it works again! Thanks again for your help, I really appreciate it!
Happy to see you're up and running. I had a similar experience when I first set mine up. It was unstable until it updated and then it was happy.

Sent from a device with no keyboard. Please forgive typos, they may not be my own.
-- Brandon // Google Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! || Rootable Serial Numbers
Mini-FAQ: What's the big deal with root? || Mini-FAQ: Rooting with FlashCast || Assemble a powered OTG cable
WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations || Not all 1080p/720p is created equal
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more