Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

[Q] rooted, but freegee doesn't give me option to unlock, where to go?

OP Charles7

4th February 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I've got my OGP rooted, and I installed FreeGee as recommended by many; however, freegee doesn't give me any options to "disable lge security" or "unlock boot loader" as many tutorials point out.

What I get with freegee is:
device name: LG optimus g pro
device model: LG E980
Software version: E98010g
"backup EFS"
"Restor EFS"
"CWM 6.0.4.6"
"TWRP 2.6.3.3"

and via menu:
settings
update loki in zip
reboot recovery
reboot bootloader
shutdown

......

That's all. No "disable lge security" like I see in this video: I'm to new to post a link. . . youtube video of e980 with "disable lge security" as an option.
Or the option to unlock the boot loader I've read in some tutorials.

So. . . where do I go from here? I would like to be able to safely flash a custom ROM.
I tried this freegee CWM once before and ended up in a boot loop, and ultimately security lock on start up and had to restore back to original via soft brick fix. . . would like to avoid that again

Thanks!
Last edited by Charles7; 4th February 2014 at 08:12 PM. Reason: added what I wanted to accomplish
4th February 2014, 10:35 PM   |  #2  
stulzerl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, Florida
Thanks Meter: 32
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
When you open freegee just choose your the recovery of your choice. CWM or TWRP. Make sure you grant permission to the app (assuming you are rooted). Once done to get to recovery what I do it turn off the phone and press volume down and power button, once it turns just press the power button 2-3 times to get to recovery.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to stulzerl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thumbs up Thanks
Thanks stulzerl for the reply.

I was working my way through the 33 pages on the freegee thread. . . little confused on the lge security dev stated everything white listed but also has uploat boot.img, which I've no clue

So. . . I guess I'm good without that step and I'll just attempt cwm again with beanstalk. Finger crossed.
4th February 2014, 11:31 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Talking CWM worked
Thanks again. . . TWRP didn't work touch screen would only work on a couple items. CWM worked fine. Backed up and installed Beanstalk ROM.
6th February 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles7

Thanks again. . . TWRP didn't work touch screen would only work on a couple items. CWM worked fine. Backed up and installed Beanstalk ROM.

I remember when I used Freegee, it didn't give me an unlock option either but after i installed CWM through it and rebooted, I got the unlock successful security error which means it did the unlock automatically.
The Following User Says Thank You to stfly For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Talking maybe that's it
Quote:
Originally Posted by stfly

I remember when I used Freegee, it didn't give me an unlock option either but after i installed CWM through it and rebooted, I got the unlock successful security error which means it did the unlock automatically.

I don't remember just rebooting after installing freegee. . . installed a ROM right off. Nonetheless, all seems to be working properly.


for anyone who wants to know: I would get locked into a boot loop with CWM when booting into recovery from power off. I found that madmac's lokified TWRP doesn't have this problem.
Last edited by Charles7; 9th February 2014 at 07:30 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Pro Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank