Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] rooted, but freegee doesn't give me option to unlock, where to go?

OP Charles7

4th February 2014, 08:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I've got my OGP rooted, and I installed FreeGee as recommended by many; however, freegee doesn't give me any options to "disable lge security" or "unlock boot loader" as many tutorials point out.

What I get with freegee is:
device name: LG optimus g pro
device model: LG E980
Software version: E98010g
"backup EFS"
"Restor EFS"
"CWM 6.0.4.6"
"TWRP 2.6.3.3"

and via menu:
settings
update loki in zip
reboot recovery
reboot bootloader
shutdown

......

That's all. No "disable lge security" like I see in this video: I'm to new to post a link. . . youtube video of e980 with "disable lge security" as an option.
Or the option to unlock the boot loader I've read in some tutorials.

So. . . where do I go from here? I would like to be able to safely flash a custom ROM.
I tried this freegee CWM once before and ended up in a boot loop, and ultimately security lock on start up and had to restore back to original via soft brick fix. . . would like to avoid that again

Thanks!
Last edited by Charles7; 4th February 2014 at 09:12 PM. Reason: added what I wanted to accomplish
4th February 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #2  
stulzerl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa, Florida
Thanks Meter: 37
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
When you open freegee just choose your the recovery of your choice. CWM or TWRP. Make sure you grant permission to the app (assuming you are rooted). Once done to get to recovery what I do it turn off the phone and press volume down and power button, once it turns just press the power button 2-3 times to get to recovery.

Sent from my LG-E980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to stulzerl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th February 2014, 11:52 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thumbs up Thanks
Thanks stulzerl for the reply.

I was working my way through the 33 pages on the freegee thread. . . little confused on the lge security dev stated everything white listed but also has uploat boot.img, which I've no clue

So. . . I guess I'm good without that step and I'll just attempt cwm again with beanstalk. Finger crossed.
5th February 2014, 12:31 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Talking CWM worked
Thanks again. . . TWRP didn't work touch screen would only work on a couple items. CWM worked fine. Backed up and installed Beanstalk ROM.
6th February 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles7

Thanks again. . . TWRP didn't work touch screen would only work on a couple items. CWM worked fine. Backed up and installed Beanstalk ROM.

I remember when I used Freegee, it didn't give me an unlock option either but after i installed CWM through it and rebooted, I got the unlock successful security error which means it did the unlock automatically.
The Following User Says Thank You to stfly For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Talking maybe that's it
Quote:
Originally Posted by stfly

I remember when I used Freegee, it didn't give me an unlock option either but after i installed CWM through it and rebooted, I got the unlock successful security error which means it did the unlock automatically.

I don't remember just rebooting after installing freegee. . . installed a ROM right off. Nonetheless, all seems to be working properly.


for anyone who wants to know: I would get locked into a boot loop with CWM when booting into recovery from power off. I found that madmac's lokified TWRP doesn't have this problem.
Last edited by Charles7; 9th February 2014 at 08:30 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes