Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Relocked Bootloader

OP rollinstone157

6th February 2014, 08:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Bootloader Info:
*** RELOCKED ***
M7_WLV PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID_VZW__001
HBOOT-1.55.0000
RADIO-1.12.41.1112_2
OpenDSP-v33.120.274.0913
OS-2.10.605.1
eMMC-boot 2048MB


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Okay, so I'm running the latest OTA update from Verizon Wireless (not 4.4, but the latest 4.3), and I tried to use Firewater to go S-OFF, and it worked. However, due to a typographical error, I couldn't flash ClockworkMod Recovery. I misinterpreted that Typographical error as a problem on the phone, and I began to follow the instructions to reflash the RUU/firmware. So I used the command "ADB OEM relock", and flashed the latest signed firmware from this forum (used the Full firmware/radio zip file 2.10.605.1 firmware.zip) using ADB with success (took 2 tries, as expected, and rebooted the phone after.

However, when I rerun Firewater, the temp root step works, but when I run the "real deal", I get a message along the lines of "it doesn't look like there's a helluva lot to do here," implying that firewater thinks that it has already unlocked the phone. I checked my bootloader after my first retry of Firewater, and to my surprise, it still says *** RELOCKED *** at the top of the bootloader--I was under the impression that the RUU/firmware reload would remove that and set things to defaults.

It is possible that I didn't flash the correctly RUU I suppose, but I truly believe I did. The instructional guide I followed to a T told me that I would likely not succeed the first time around and to run it again, and the phone/adb did not deviate from that. Does anyone have any ideas? Would a factory reset of the phone possibly clear the error that I'm seeing, and allow Firewater to work again? I would reflash the entire stock factory image; however, AFAIK I need to be S-OFF before I can do that!

Thanks,
RS
Last edited by rollinstone157; 6th February 2014 at 08:24 PM.
6th February 2014, 09:50 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,765
 
2,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
Advice is free in irc you are s-off still. Do you have custom recovery installed or stock?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to beaups For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 10:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaups

Advice is free in irc you are s-off still. Do you have custom recovery installed or stock?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk

Well, I know it's free, but I like to support the devs who work tirelessly to provide these services to the community--I already tossed a few bucks your way

So we're on the same page:
I am S-OFF, but the bootloader is locked

I am currently on the factory recovery. No aftermarket software (other than the Firewater of course) is installed. I just did a factory reset to have a blank slate to start on.

Any ideas on how I can re unlock my bootloader?
6th February 2014, 10:23 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,765
 
2,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollinstone157

Well, I know it's free, but I like to support the devs who work tirelessly to provide these services to the community--I already tossed a few bucks your way

So we're on the same page:
I am S-OFF, but the bootloader is locked

I am currently on the factory recovery. No aftermarket software (other than the Firewater of course) is installed. I just did a factory reset to have a blank slate to start on.

Any ideas on how I can re unlock my bootloader?

locked bootloader is just an inconvenience on an s-off device, but don't do that again. Several ways to change that status to unlocked, easiests is probably:

1.) boot to android
2.) adb shell
3.) /data/local/tmp/temproot
4.) wait (forever)
5.) (copy/paste this) echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
6.) reboot bootloader

you should be unlocked. Copy/paste that 5th item, don't screw it up.
The Following User Says Thank You to beaups For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Red face You're the Man
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaups

locked bootloader is just an inconvenience on an s-off device, but don't do that again. Several ways to change that status to unlocked, easiests is probably:

1.) boot to android
2.) adb shell
3.) /data/local/tmp/temproot
4.) wait (forever)
5.) (copy/paste this) echo -ne "HTCU" | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
6.) reboot bootloader

you should be unlocked. Copy/paste that 5th item, don't screw it up.

Thank you so much, my bootloader now successfully and properly says "Unlocked" at the top.

Just cause I'm curious, can you briefly explain what the 5th command did?
6th February 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,765
 
2,405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollinstone157

Thank you so much, my bootloader now successfully and properly says "Unlocked" at the top.

Just cause I'm curious, can you briefly explain what the 5th command did?

Wrote the unlocked status flag to the security partition.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes