Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,674 Members 37,924 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HELP: ENABLING Block Recognizer in input menu?

Tip us?
 
gnarolibero
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2007
Angry HELP: ENABLING Block Recognizer in input menu?

Hi all,

just got my topaz and flashed a cooked ROM (wm 6.5 LP EVO V-ITA to be precise).

i really need to enable block-letter recognising, after years practising i cannot live without...

afer some search, i have tried editing this
For letter recognizer:
Code:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429690-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9}\IsSIPInputMethod]
"Default"="1"

For block recognizer:

Code:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429691-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9}\IsSIPInputMethod]
"Default"="1"


but apparently is not working

can somebody pls help me?

thks

GG
 
BeeGee_Tokyo
Old
#2  
BeeGee_Tokyo's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 2,751
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manila

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnarolibero View Post
Hi all,

just got my topaz and flashed a cooked ROM (wm 6.5 LP EVO V-ITA to be precise).

i really need to enable block-letter recognising, after years practising i cannot live without...

afer some search, i have tried editing this
For letter recognizer:
Code:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429690-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9}\IsSIPInputMethod]
"Default"="1"

For block recognizer:

Code:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429691-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9}\IsSIPInputMethod]
"Default"="1"


but apparently is not working

can somebody pls help me?

thks

GG
I have a cab (thanks to !Aman!). You can get block recog.cab from my Topaz File Mirror.
 
gnarolibero
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2007
thks but is not working...

anybody knows the proper registry tweak?

thanks in advance

gg



"]!Aman![/URL]). You can get block recog.cab from my Topaz File Mirror.[/QUOTE]
 
BeeGee_Tokyo
Old
#4  
BeeGee_Tokyo's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1232
Posts: 2,751
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Manila

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnarolibero View Post
thks but is not working...

anybody knows the proper registry tweak?

thanks in advance

gg
strange it works for me on WM 6.1

what ROM are you using it for?
 
nicksalgado
Old
#5  
nicksalgado's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeGee_Tokyo View Post
strange it works for me on WM 6.1

what ROM are you using it for?
I'm trying to get the Block recognizer too.
It seems to me that Microsoft blocked it in WM 6.5
Nick Salgado
HTC Diamond2 (Topaz)
Direct from the Amazon Rainforest
 
!Aman!
Old
#6  
!Aman!'s Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 2,944
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
EzInput 2.1 doesnt support old SIP methods like block recongniser, thats why it doesnt work for you guys.
HTC Diamond2 T5353 (Topaz)
ROM: My Own WM 6.5 [TESS Prime F]
HSPL: 2.52.OliNex
Radio: 04.49.25.91


If you appreciate my hard work and want to support for continuous improvement...Make a Donation
 
nicksalgado
Old
#7  
nicksalgado's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by !Aman! View Post
EzInput 2.1 doesn't support old SIP methods like block recognizer, that's why it doesn't work for you guys.
Hey Aman, but at Microsoft WebPage, they talk about the input methods for WM 6.5 and Block/Letter Recognize are there !!!!!!!
I though that the nes versions of cooked ROM's would be able to have then too.
Nick Salgado
HTC Diamond2 (Topaz)
Direct from the Amazon Rainforest
 
nicksalgado
Old
#8  
nicksalgado's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default Finally working BR and LR

Originally Posted by NothingBetterToDo
So sorry for keeping you guys waiting. The following are the steps I took based on my memory.

To enable the Letter Recognizer SIP, set this to 1:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429690-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9}\IsSipInputMethod
"Default"="1" Enabled

To enable the Block Recognizer SIP, set this to 1:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{42429691-ae04-11d0-a4f8-00aa00a749b9}\IsSipInputMethod
"Default"="1" Enabled

You will notice that this will not make the SIP appear, for example, in your SMS application. However, it should appear in the pulldown menu at Start->Settings->Personal->Input. Now, if you try to set the Letter Recognizer as default, thinking that it will appear in SMS application, it doesn't. For some reason, it will always default back to the Touch Input (or EzInput) SIP.

So, the next step is to make the Letter Recognizer SIP the default. To do that, check the value at
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Sip\DefaultIm

It should be "0654897B-B359-473F-B28B-D85CF601C57F" (for Touch Input SIP). Replace that with
"42429690-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9" (for Letter Recognizer SIP).

WARNING -- very very important to make sure the above is entered correctly. According to some posts elsewhere, a non existent SIP can crash your device. You might want to confirm if you have the Letter Recognizer SIP by searching for the msim.dll file. If it exists, I suppose it is probably safe.

After soft reset (power on/off device), you should now see the Letter Recognizer in your SMS application. However, you will also notice it doesn't work properly. For eg, the Capital Letter (left panel) doesn't work, there is this irritating word suggestions thing that keep popping up, it is quite slow and quite inaccurate, the Help doesn't work well.

To resolve these problems, set the following to 1:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\HTC\ezsip\IsOtherSip

Do a soft reset and the problems should disappear and you have a good Letter Recognizer to work with (even with fingernail), save for the following problems:
a. Sometimes response may not be very good. Can be quite slow especially if you are entering letters like "i", "r". Maybe this is because of the screen sensitivity.
b. If you click on the little triangle and want to switch to the Touch Input SIP, you can. But the problem is that you can't switch back to the Letter Recognizer anymore unless you do a soft reset. I guess this is OK if you use Letter Recognizer exclusively, but if you want the Chinese Handwriting feature in Touch Input (which is pretty good IMO), then it is not good.

Sorry for the long post. Thought it is better to also share my observations. I am a newbie with registry thing, so I prefer to do step by step and hence many soft resets. If you are gungho enough, just do the steps in bold followed by a soft reset. Hope it works for all you guys. :)

Note -- if you don't feel safe doing the registry changes, an alternative is to use the Touch Input SIP but set the waiting time to the shortest possible which will reduce the delay. But it is still very irritating to use IMHO.

Cheers
Nick Salgado
HTC Diamond2 (Topaz)
Direct from the Amazon Rainforest
 
nicksalgado
Old
#9  
nicksalgado's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2007
Just to remember all that the solution I described at the previous post is not mine and was Originally Posted by NothingBetterToDo. So, many thnaks to him for the great solution !!!!!!
Nick Salgado
HTC Diamond2 (Topaz)
Direct from the Amazon Rainforest
 
Sebulba_se
Old
(Last edited by Sebulba_se; 24th November 2009 at 12:55 PM.) Reason: wrong spelling =)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stockholm
Smile Info for the ones that doesnt have en version

Hi

Info to all of you with other language then english.

The file msim.dll are country specific, in sweden its called msimsw.dll so i guess you will be able to find your version if you search the registry for msmi and then you will find a msmiXX.dll that is the correct one for your country.

I hade to add the info for {42429690-AE04-11D0-A4F8-00AA00A749B9} and {42429691-ae04-11d0-a4f8-00aa00a749b9} because it was missing info so it's not enought to only change the IsSipInputMethod to 1.

I have attached the files i used, but plz realise that this one is for swedish a version. You can edit the files with notepad to adress the localized .dll file for your country.

After this to be able to use the input methods i did what nicksalgado said and change
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Sip\DefaultIm
to {42429691-ae04-11d0-a4f8-00aa00a749b9} to use Block recognizer as default im

/SebulbaSe
Attached Files
File Type: zip recognizer.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1,011 Bytes, 73 views)
/Sebulba_se

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more