Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,892 Members 42,714 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Question about the recovery after rooting

Tip us?
 
Pir4t3
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syria
Default [Q] Question about the recovery after rooting

Hey!
i just rooted my phone by this way : http://www.modaco.com/topic/366771-r...n-1-superboot/
and it works!

but now i need to install a custom recovery so i can install custom rom too!

how could i ? " i tried to use rom manager but he shows me that my device is not supported officially by CWR

any help ?
 
Pir4t3
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syria
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pir4t3 View Post
Hey!
i just rooted my phone by this way : http://www.modaco.com/topic/366771-r...n-1-superboot/
and it works!

but now i need to install a custom recovery so i can install custom rom too!

how could i ? " i tried to use rom manager but he shows me that my device is not supported officially by CWR

any help ?
ok solved!

but i got another problem

i can't mount usb storage at the recovery mode!
i flashed CWM And TW .. and the same

how can i solve it ?
 
1pilo
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pir4t3 View Post
ok solved!

but i got another problem

i can't mount usb storage at the recovery mode!
i flashed CWM And TW .. and the same

how can i solve it ?
What do you mean by usb storage? You can flash your rom by sideloading it under your recovery.

adb sideload rom-name.zip
 
Pir4t3
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syria
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1pilo View Post
What do you mean by usb storage? You can flash your rom by sideloading it under your recovery.

adb sideload rom-name.zip
when u open the recovery go to mount then mount usb storage
it makes ur pc read your phone so you can transfer some files
i used it many times in my old phone " Nexus s "

and I'm using mac so i don't this command will work
 
1pilo
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pir4t3 View Post
when u open the recovery go to mount then mount usb storage
it makes ur pc read your phone so you can transfer some files
i used it many times in my old phone " Nexus s "

and I'm using mac so i don't this command will work
I'm also using a mac. if your downloading the sdk from google u go to sdk/platform-tools and theres the adb file.

Next you need to place the rom file in the same folder

then you need to go to your recovery under install from sideload

and then in your terminal

./adb sideload rom-name.zip

after transfering from mac it gets installed directly
The Following User Says Thank You to 1pilo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Pir4t3
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syria
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1pilo View Post
I'm also using a mac. if your downloading the sdk from google u go to sdk/platform-tools and theres the adb file.

Next you need to place the rom file in the same folder

then you need to go to your recovery under install from sideload

and then in your terminal

./adb sideload rom-name.zip

after transfering from mac it gets installed directly
Thanks!
so if i want to transfer a file without installing it " if it zip too "
coz i want to try it .. but i just wanna try that it works without installing a rom

is it possible ?

and again thanks!
 
1pilo
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pir4t3 View Post
Thanks!
so if i want to transfer a file without installing it " if it zip too "
coz i want to try it .. but i just wanna try that it works without installing a rom

is it possible ?

and again thanks!
that should be tricky trying a rom without installing it.
The only solution I know would be doing a backup before. Then installing it and then restoring the backup.

There should be some other recovery where u can manage your roms. but I cant remember.
 
Pir4t3
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Syria
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1pilo View Post
that should be tricky trying a rom without installing it.
The only solution I know would be doing a backup before. Then installing it and then restoring the backup.

There should be some other recovery where u can manage your roms. but I cant remember.
i tried CMW and TW .. same thing happened!

i just wanna say Thank you again

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes