Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4.3 OTA - Warranty Replacement Phone/Root/Unlock

OP NITRO_2

7th February 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #1  
NITRO_2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I just received my warranty replacement S3 from verizon and noticed it came with 4.3 installed. I looked around to find out how to root it and unlock the bootloader and from what I've read, the bootloader is locked completely, for now... Is there a root method I can use that won't trip this Knox crap? Sorry, I tried googling and searching but couldn't find a whole lot. I didn't even know about this Knox crap since I was always on CM11.
7th February 2014, 02:39 AM   |  #2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,036
 
5,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NITRO_2

I just received my warranty replacement S3 from verizon and noticed it came with 4.3 installed. I looked around to find out how to root it and unlock the bootloader and from what I've read, the bootloader is locked completely, for now... Is there a root method I can use that won't trip this Knox crap? Sorry, I tried googling and searching but couldn't find a whole lot. I didn't even know about this Knox crap since I was always on CM11.

The only root method we have for VRUCML1 4.3 update is Saferoot. As you can see, it is in the S4 section but has been confirmed to work for the S3 on 4.3 plenty of times. You will obtain root access if you follow this.
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #3  
NITRO_2's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

The only root method we have for VRUCML1 4.3 update is Saferoot. As you can see, it is in the S4 section but has been confirmed to work for the S3 on 4.3 plenty of times. You will obtain root access if you follow this.

Thank you, I'm rooted now. Hopefully someone will find a way around this knox security thing verizon's got going on. Otherwise I'll be on stock rooted 4.3 for awhile. Thanks again, rooted is a lot better than nothing
7th February 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,036
 
5,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NITRO_2

Thank you, I'm rooted now. Hopefully someone will find a way around this knox security thing verizon's got going on. Otherwise I'll be on stock rooted 4.3 for awhile. Thanks again, rooted is a lot better than nothing

No problem! Would you like to run custom TW VRUCML1 roms? Cuz Hashcode ported Safestrap over to the S3 which allows one to flash roms based on the same kernel as the VRUCML1 OTA.

Edit: Safestrap http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2605648


Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
7th February 2014, 04:12 PM   |  #5  
pmdied's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
I received my warranty replacement too and it had 4.12. I rooted it right away.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #6  
twistedillutions's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 209
Thanks Meter: 283
 
2,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Reading this thread reminds me wen i was at a corp vzw store noticed some of there display devices didn't have the 4.3ota and also noticed a customers getting new fone(s4) and not having the 4.3ota he was able to ignore it. I guess its luck

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes