Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,510 Members 55,265 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] DNA getting slow, school me please!

Tip us?
 
cunningStunts
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default [Q] DNA getting slow, school me please!

I've rooted a few of my previous phones, but my DNA is getting slow on me.

Have had the DNA since it came out, but never got around to fixing it up. I'm really out of the loop, so I need to be schooled again.

I want the speed back in my DNA, what's the best method? Thanks!



*Originally posted this to a different forum when I was reminded of these forums, so to be hasty I just copy pasted my question. Hope to get some feedback while I'm browsing through these forums to try and find my answer.
 
jamiethemorris
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 753
Posts: 1,741
Join Date: Jan 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you on the newest update? Are you unlocked? The best way is to either flash a custom ROM and kernel or just flash a custom kernel on your stock ROM.

Sent from my Droid DNA using Tapatalk
If you feel that I have been helpful to you, instead of clicking my "thanks" button, check out my music:

https://soundcloud.com/manic-harmoni...arth-simulator
https://soundcloud.com/manic-harmonic/superuser

Manic Harmonic
Fan Page
 
.torrented
Old
#3  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1471
Posts: 2,785
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suffolk, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cunningStunts View Post
I've rooted a few of my previous phones, but my DNA is getting slow on me.

Have had the DNA since it came out, but never got around to fixing it up. I'm really out of the loop, so I need to be schooled again.

I want the speed back in my DNA, what's the best method? Thanks!



*Originally posted this to a different forum when I was reminded of these forums, so to be hasty I just copy pasted my question. Hope to get some feedback while I'm browsing through these forums to try and find my answer.
Check your software version, if you have 3.06.605.4 you will need to head over to Rumrunner.us and follow their procedures and it will fully unlock/s-off your device for you and you will be able to flash w/e you want.
 
cunningStunts
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default can ligndul

Quote:
Originally Posted by .torrented View Post
Check your software version, if you have 3.06.605.4 you will need to head over to Rumrunner.us and follow their procedures and it will fully unlock/s-off your device for you and you will be able to flash w/e you want.

My software is version 3.06.605.4-2.08.605.1...which is the same to a point, so I'm not sure. This the same one you're talking about?
 
Jaggar345
Old
#5  
Jaggar345's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 1,080
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Amston
To s-off you need to use the rum runner exploit
Head to rumrunner.us download the exploit for the dna and follow the simple instructions.

From there you will be unlocked and s-off so you can flash a recovery and flash a custom rom to speed up your phone again.

Sent from my HTC Droid DNA using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
cunningStunts
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 36
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggar345 View Post
To s-off you need to use the rum runner exploit
Head to rumrunner.us download the exploit for the dna and follow the simple instructions.

From there you will be unlocked and s-off so you can flash a recovery and flash a custom rom to speed up your phone again.

Sent from my HTC Droid DNA using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Will do, thanks everyone for the help! I guess now the problem will be finding the rom I like in the ocean of them, heh.
 
thayl0
Old
#7  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 765
Join Date: May 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cunningStunts View Post
Will do, thanks everyone for the help! I guess now the problem will be finding the rom I like in the ocean of them, heh.
Go with viper or cm.. although that's all I've ever used.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Uzephi
Old
#8  
Uzephi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 299
Posts: 963
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Phoenix

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thayl0 View Post
Go with viper or cm.. although that's all I've ever used.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Long time viper user here. I suggest doing viper as it is close to stock but has the tons of tweaks you would want to make it how you want. I am currently running the blackout GPE ROM to see if I like it, but always will have a nand of Viper as it runs best on this phone.

Sent from my DNA using my mind.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more

Pale Moon Browser Ported to Android

Having a wide choice of third party applications is one of the most beautiful things that Android has to … more

Partial Android Wear Source Uploaded to AOSP

2014 is certainly shaping up to be theyear of the wearables. And thanks to its innovative … more