Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Caller can't hear me when screen dims?

OP droiga

4th February 2014, 08:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
hey everyone,

I've been running the latest build of the Hood Pope rom since Nov and i haven't had any problems with the phone. Out off the different roms and versions of a rom,this has been the best. i recently started experiencing a problem; during calls when the screen goes black the caller can no longer hear me. On the other hand, i can hear them fine. I constantly have to wake the screen with the power button, or keep the phone off my ear so the proximity sensor doesn't kick in and dim the display.

I have been searching and the only discussion similar to my problem from another site turned out to be a hardware issue. I have reset the app cache and settings. I checked the dialer app permissions but i haven't denied anything. No recently installed apps that would need dialer permissions. I dropped my phone, i believe a week or so ago, 3 1/2 ft inside my house, phone does have a case.

i don't know what else to do besides going through the ritual of wiping and reinstalling the rom. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

Thank you
6th February 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #2  
Gil81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora
Thanks Meter: 827
 
1,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droiga

hey everyone,

I've been running the latest build of the Hood Pope rom since Nov and i haven't had any problems with the phone. Out off the different roms and versions of a rom,this has been the best. i recently started experiencing a problem; during calls when the screen goes black the caller can no longer hear me. On the other hand, i can hear them fine. I constantly have to wake the screen with the power button, or keep the phone off my ear so the proximity sensor doesn't kick in and dim the display.

I have been searching and the only discussion similar to my problem from another site turned out to be a hardware issue. I have reset the app cache and settings. I checked the dialer app permissions but i haven't denied anything. No recently installed apps that would need dialer permissions. I dropped my phone, i believe a week or so ago, 3 1/2 ft inside my house, phone does have a case.

i don't know what else to do besides going through the ritual of wiping and reinstalling the rom. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

Thank you

Are you using gravity screen off....if so. Check the box for it not to work while in call. If not using this...I would reboot recovery and wipe cache and dalvik...if problem still persist. You need to do a fresh install. If that doesn't work. I would Odin back to stock 4.1.2 and insure its not a hardware issue...

Good luck..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gil81 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil81

Are you using gravity screen off....if so. Check the box for it not to work while in call. If not using this...I would reboot recovery and wipe cache and dalvik...if problem still persist. You need to do a fresh install. If that doesn't work. I would Odin back to stock 4.1.2 and insure its not a hardware issue...

Good luck..

Not sure about gravity screen off, I haven't stumbled across that setting unless its hidden somewhere. As far as the rest proposed solution im holding off as last resort at this point but i fear that's the route i will have to take soon.

Thanks
6th February 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #4  
HighxVoltage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
154 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Not a hardware problem.
This has happened to a number of people running earlier version of CM10.1 as well.
Try flashing the official CM10.2 nightlies. If problem still occurs, ODIN back to stock.
Not all phones will run a custom ROM perfectly, even though they are of the same device.
6th February 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #5  
Gil81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora
Thanks Meter: 827
 
1,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droiga

Not sure about gravity screen off, I haven't stumbled across that setting unless its hidden somewhere. As far as the rest proposed solution im holding off as last resort at this point but i fear that's the route i will have to take soon.

Thanks

My bad...it could be. I have the pro version...

High voltage is right though....not all ROMs run the same. I have never had this problem with cm10.1...but I only ran it a little. But I can tell you that my boost variant hates aokp...and it makes me mad..Lol. But my galaxy tab 10.1 loves aokp...go figure...

Hope you get it sorted out...
Last edited by Gil81; 6th February 2014 at 08:24 PM.
6th February 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighxVoltage

Not a hardware problem.
This has happened to a number of people running earlier version of CM10.1 as well.
Try flashing the official CM10.2 nightlies. If problem still occurs, ODIN back to stock.
Not all phones will run a custom ROM perfectly, even though they are of the same device.

Good to hear that its not a hardware problem, i was afraid that minor drop might have caused it somehow.
6th February 2014, 08:48 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil81

My bad...it could be. I have the pro version...

High voltage is right though....not all ROMs run the same. I have never had this problem with cm10.1...but I only ran it a little. But I can tell you that my boost variant hates aokp...and it makes me mad..Lol. But my galaxy tab 10.1 loves aokp...go figure...

Hope you get it sorted out...

Yea i think 3 months was long enough for me without having to wipe dalvik, i was pleased with how well the rom ran and brushed it off. But you can only go so far before something acts up that will require wiping and reinstalling something.
The Following User Says Thank You to droiga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #8  
Gil81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora
Thanks Meter: 827
 
1,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by droiga

Yea i think 3 months was long enough for me without having to wipe dalvik, i was pleased with how well the rom ran and brushed it off. But you can only go so far before something acts up that will require wiping and reinstalling something.

Ya...Lol.

I think the only ROM I've ran for that long is project x..if your in the market..its a great ROM...and combined with missing link,you can theme it out.

I'm actually running Commotio now..and have downloaded Vanir and Smasher x to give them both a try today...yes. I'm a flash o holic...
The Following User Says Thank You to Gil81 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2014, 12:49 AM   |  #9  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Garrett, IN
Thanks Meter: 29,274
 
15,902 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Project X-http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2320041

7th February 2014, 06:10 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gil81

Ya...Lol.

I think the only ROM I've ran for that long is project x..if your in the market..its a great ROM...and combined with missing link,you can theme it out.

I'm actually running Commotio now..and have downloaded Vanir and Smasher x to give them both a try today...yes. I'm a flash o holic...

Haha yea, when i first started rooting i enjoyed flashing different roms but it eventually became a hassle so i stay away unless i absolutely have to or there is a must have feature implemented within lol. I will keep your reference in mind if i decide to try something different.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes