Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,266 Members 42,221 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] problem on 2g network[SGY]

Tip us?
 
wanyakuza
Old
#1  
wanyakuza's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 170
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ipoh
Default [Q] problem on 2g network[SGY]

why sometime when i try to active data it does not show the icon on status bar? , BTW i try to switch plane mode n turn off back .but still does not work..can anyone solve my problrm plz .
 
san122
Old
#2  
san122's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1539
Posts: 1,223
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unavailable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanyakuza View Post
why sometime when i try to active data it does not show the icon on status bar? , BTW i try to switch plane mode n turn off back .but still does not work..can anyone solve my problrm plz .
Sometimes its due to carrier.You can try changing your kernel.
 
wanyakuza
Old
#3  
wanyakuza's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 170
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ipoh
Quote:
Originally Posted by san122 View Post
Sometimes its due to carrier.You can try changing your kernel.
wht u mean by carrier?
 
marcussmith2626
Old
(Last edited by marcussmith2626; 7th February 2014 at 04:09 PM.)
#4  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2332
Posts: 4,374
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanyakuza View Post
wht u mean by carrier?
carrier = the network operator you are signed to - the company you pay your phone bill to


you wont get 2g if

you have not enabled 2g in phone settings/your phone is not set for 2g in apn settings (you can force only 2g network connection if you dont have 3g)
your carrier doesnt support 2g (my carrier only supports 3g and 4g)
you have no signal
you dont have imei (dial *#06# and it will show your imei - if it is blank you have lost imei and need to change rom/kernel/flash ril fix)
you dont have a 2g data plan

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!
 
wanyakuza
Old
#5  
wanyakuza's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 170
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ipoh
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcussmith2626 View Post
carrier = the network operator you are signed to - the company you pay your phone bill to


you wont get 2g if

you have not enabled 2g in phone settings/your phone is not set for 2g in apn settings (you can force only 2g network connection if you dont have 3g)
your carrier doesnt support 2g (my carrier only supports 3g and 4g)
you have no signal
you dont have imei (dial *#06# and it will show your imei - if it is blank you have lost imei and need to change rom/kernel/flash ril fix)
you dont have a 2g data plan
but in my apn setting it show 'maxis 3g internet' which mean this support on 3g or both?
 
marcussmith2626
Old
#6  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2332
Posts: 4,374
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanyakuza View Post
but in my apn setting it show 'maxis 3g internet' which mean this support on 3g or both?
only your provider and you will know what services you get

2g is near enough obsolute where I am when it comes to internet - only calls still remain on some networks on 2g - you will have to contact your carrier provider

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!
 
wanyakuza
Old
#7  
wanyakuza's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 170
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: ipoh
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcussmith2626 View Post
only your provider and you will know what services you get

2g is near enough obsolute where I am when it comes to internet - only calls still remain on some networks on 2g - you will have to contact your carrier provider
BTW , i want to ask u why when i was flash bacem tweak n change the volt , it still does not effect my battery..?,n when i check terminal emulator it show not found
 
marcussmith2626
Old
#8  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2332
Posts: 4,374
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanyakuza View Post
BTW , i want to ask u why when i was flash bacem tweak n change the volt , it still does not effect my battery..?,n when i check terminal emulator it show not found
i dont use it - maybe it requires busybox or the kernel doesnt support it

custom kernel maybe undervolted anyway so there probably isnt much point to it

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more