Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,213 Members 39,828 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Soft Brick or Hard Brick

Tip us?
 
Bitcloud30
Old
(Last edited by Bitcloud30; 5th February 2014 at 10:23 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Default Soft Brick or Hard Brick

So last night my phone died without any reason and start to loop on "SAMSUNG" and "SAMSUNG GALAXY SIII". so what i did is to remove the battery for a couple mins and press the power button hoping that it would be totally off, but it didnt work at all. i tried entering RECOVERY (TWRP) and DOWNLOAD MODE but for some reason it can stay there for too long it would go black in an instant.

i just upgraded my FIRMWARE to 4.3 using DocHoliday77 root66 4.3 (MJC) after i odin. i immediately FLASH S3Rx 3.0 TouchWiz 4.3 MJC (1-27- 14) and i chosen DKP for my kernel..

i've done ODIN couple of times already and am very successful with it because i always look at Doc's guide every time i do it.

now just to say to myself that my phone will work again, can anyone of you tell me if i can still get my phone working again using the "[HOWTO] UnBrick T-Mobile S III QHSUSB_DLOAD w/Video Walkthrough"

am still worried until this time because am not sure if its soft or hard brick

Edit: i remembered, i open my mobile data for 5 - 10mins after than i closed the screen there it started the Brick or Bootloop.
 
Perseus71
Old
#2  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3367
Posts: 5,678
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
If you can get it to stay in Download mode, then do Odin. Otherwise follow the video.
 
Naturesretard
Old
#3  
Naturesretard's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 377
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chino
Try flashing stock???

Sent from my SM-N900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Retired (Yet still winning my love!)
OG EVO 4G (Supersonic)
Hardware version: 0004
ROM: Digital Karma v9
Kernel: Still deciding!
______________________________________
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S3 (SGH-T999)
ROM: Vanilla Rootbox
Kernel: KT747 Latest (The Tiamat 3.3.7 of GS3 Kernels)
 
Bitcloud30
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 132
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
i already solve it.. it was a hardware issue, power switch was the main problem..i was worried as F**K when i was in that situation.
 
xguju
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
I have a similar situation. What did you do to the power switch to fix it.

Sent from my cm_tenderloin using Tapatalk HD
 
Perseus71
Old
#6  
Perseus71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3367
Posts: 5,678
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlantis

 
DONATE TO ME
Power Button can get Stuck for a while. You can either try to pry it loose or send it for repair.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more