Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Oppo N1 CyanogenMod 10.2 Rooting issues.

OP Lalarex

8th February 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Hey guys, so I finally decided to switch from the great ColorOS to CyanogenMod as I'd heard there was CM11 nightlies available. So I used the normal flashing method and I'm now running CM10.2 which is great. Only issue is I don't have root access. I've tried installing OppoOwn apk but to no avail. I read that root is already included in CM0.2 and you simply need to enable it in the developer options however I have no root management settings in there. Any ideas why? Other phones seem to. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
9th February 2014, 09:55 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 406
 
1,293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
You need to flash supersu to get root.

Sent from my N1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th February 2014, 12:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChodTheWacko

You need to flash supersu to get root.

Sent from my N1 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks for getting back to me pal. I have tried flashing it only issue is I've only got stock recovery and I can't flash twrp without root. Flashing SuperSU with stock doesn't work. Stuck in a loop :/
10th February 2014, 10:57 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,757
 
4,554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalarex

Thanks for getting back to me pal. I have tried flashing it only issue is I've only got stock recovery and I can't flash twrp without root. Flashing SuperSU with stock doesn't work. Stuck in a loop :/

You don't need root to flash recovery using fastboot

Sent from my N1 using Tapatalk
10th February 2014, 05:19 PM   |  #5  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 24,855
 
13,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lalarex

Thanks for getting back to me pal. I have tried flashing it only issue is I've only got stock recovery and I can't flash twrp without root. Flashing SuperSU with stock doesn't work. Stuck in a loop :/

Why the heck are you trying to root your device to flash recovery?

It's the other way around, you flash custom recovery using fastboot in order to root your device.
10th February 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #6  
Harfainx's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 614
 
101010
983 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
With stock recovery you won't be able to flash SuperSU.

However you should be installing TWRP before rooting anyway. Reboot your phone and hold volume+ on reboot. This will put you into Fastboot. Connect to your computer and follow the instructions listed on the TWRP website HERE.

After rebooting into TWRP, then you can flash SuperSU.
15th February 2014, 07:56 AM   |  #7  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 160
 
1,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Im thinkin about trading my Rooted Verizon Galaxy Note 3 for a Oppo N1. Does the N1 work on Verizon network?

☛HYPER🚨DRIVE☚
15th February 2014, 02:06 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,757
 
4,554 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwebb34

Im thinkin about trading my Rooted Verizon Galaxy Note 3 for a Oppo N1. Does the N1 work on Verizon network?

☛HYPER🚨DRIVE☚


if its not GSM then not
17th February 2014, 04:27 AM   |  #9  
Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Owego, NY
Thanks Meter: 24,855
 
13,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwebb34

Im thinkin about trading my Rooted Verizon Galaxy Note 3 for a Oppo N1. Does the N1 work on Verizon network?

☛HYPER🚨DRIVE☚

No. As long as you stay on Verizon, you're going to be stuck with crippled devices.

I strongly suggest something like Straight Talk's BYOD SIM plans. The N1 will work with SIMs for both T-Mobile and AT&T and all of their MVNOs (the AT&T SIMs from Straight Talk are your best bet.)
17th February 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #10  
mwebb34's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 160
 
1,411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy512

No. As long as you stay on Verizon, you're going to be stuck with crippled devices.

I strongly suggest something like Straight Talk's BYOD SIM plans. The N1 will work with SIMs for both T-Mobile and AT&T and all of their MVNOs (the AT&T SIMs from Straight Talk are your best bet.)

Time to tell VERIZON to kiss my Ass. Thanks for the info much appreciated.

☛Hyper🚨Drive☚

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes