Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can't find USB debugging on p600...

OP djdelirius

6th February 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.
6th February 2014, 11:08 AM   |  #2  
lightman33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius

Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.

this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lightman33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #3  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 577
 
4,469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....
6th February 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightman33

this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).

Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
6th February 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius

Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app

Nevermind, it's the same way for Note 3. Weird but it didn't work the first time I tried it.... Just like the XDA website.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 113
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....

That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.
7th February 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavtian

That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.

Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first
9th February 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I don't understand the need to "Hide" things
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsamuraiguapo

Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first

I feel that this goes against the whole open source ideal. Sure, have a dialog box that states "you probably don't need or understand these setting", but to make an "easter egg" out of settings seems wrong. IMHO

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes