FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Can't find USB debugging on p600...

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By djdelirius, Junior Member on 6th February 2014, 03:01 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.
 
 
6th February 2014, 10:08 AM |#2  
lightman33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius

Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.

this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lightman33 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 11:08 AM |#3  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 658
 
More
Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....
6th February 2014, 03:39 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightman33

this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).

Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
6th February 2014, 03:46 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius

Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app

Nevermind, it's the same way for Note 3. Weird but it didn't work the first time I tried it.... Just like the XDA website.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 06:57 PM |#6  
Senior Member
San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 114
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....

That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.
7th February 2014, 09:39 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavtian

That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.

Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first
8th February 2014, 11:14 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I don't understand the need to "Hide" things
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsamuraiguapo

Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first

I feel that this goes against the whole open source ideal. Sure, have a dialog box that states "you probably don't need or understand these setting", but to make an "easter egg" out of settings seems wrong. IMHO
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes