Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,165 Members 43,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't find USB debugging on p600...

Tip us?
 
djdelirius
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Can't find USB debugging on p600...

Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.
 
lightman33
Old
#2  
lightman33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 157
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius View Post
Maybe I'm completely overlooking this option but I can't find the Enable USB debugging mode on my 10.1 p600. I have no developer menu anywhere in settings. The closest thing I can find is the install from unknown sources option under security settings which is usually listed under the developer options menu on my other Android devices. I'm running stock Touchwiz on 4.3 build MK1.
this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).
Actual phone : Nexus 5 16Go Red (old phone : Samsung Galaxy SIII)
Actual tablet : Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition SM-P600 stock rooted with xposed modules (old tablet : Samsung Galaxy Tab P7510)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lightman33 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ultramag69
Old
#3  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 575
Posts: 4,456
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Waratah
Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....
If You Disagree Or Think I'm Wrong, Look Closer At My Avatar...
 
djdelirius
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lightman33 View Post
this option is hidden by default, you have to activate it.
in general option, you must "click" 7 times (if I remenber well) on the version number (in about device).
Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
 
djdelirius
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by djdelirius View Post
Thanks a bunch!! It was actually the build number I had to click on 7 times. But thanks for starting me out. +1 Thanks. Now I only need to figure out how to do the same thing on my Note 3.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
Nevermind, it's the same way for Note 3. Weird but it didn't work the first time I tried it.... Just like the XDA website.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
 
ddavtian
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 456
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69 View Post
Yep, Sammy are getting paranoid about people using their device like they want to....
That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.
 
elsamuraiguapo
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavtian View Post
That's an Android thing, not Samsung. Google made a decision last year to hide developer options. Average Joe doesn't need to see these options.
Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first
 
Hankafyin
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default I don't understand the need to "Hide" things

Quote:
Originally Posted by elsamuraiguapo View Post
Yep that's definitely not a samsung thing. Even my Nexus devices had the developer options hidden. Hell even on some custom ROMs they hide the developer options at first
I feel that this goes against the whole open source ideal. Sure, have a dialog box that states "you probably don't need or understand these setting", but to make an "easter egg" out of settings seems wrong. IMHO

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more