Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Mobile data cutting out

OP plewis1981

28th January 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #1  
plewis1981's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 57
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Hi all,

I am having a problem with my data connection, quite often when I am using my phone the internet connection icon next to the signal bars keeps disappearing and I loose connection, it's normally only a minute or so but it is quite annoying as it is quite regular and causes some downloads to fail.

I have tried different ROMs but I have the issue remains.

I am running a UK xt1032 device and couldn't wait for the official 4.4 ROM so I flashed the us global gsm rom, ( downgraded my bootloader to the 4.3 version so I could flash CWM ) but have since reflashed the 4.4 boot loader, but I was wondering if flashing the us ROM could could be affecting my connection as I believe the primary difference between UK and us ROMs is the radio frequency ( I might be wrong ).

So... Is anyone else having this issue, or is this a CM based ROM bug ( as all the roms I have used have been CM based ) or could my phone be faulty, or could it just be down to my network ( giffgaff UK ) as I do make the most of there unlimited data and I'm not sure if they giving me low priority.

Sorry for the long winded post, and thanks for any advice/feedback.

Sent from my XT1032 using xda app-developers app
28th January 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Well not sure this will help you but lots of people in the uk have been having data cut out after upgrading to kitkat but that is accompanied by other issues.lots of info on the motorola forum.

https://forums.motorola.com/posts/48fb0b8150?page=1

Im with giffgaff and after i upgraded it was a nightmare,data cut out,random airplane mode with no symbol showing etc. i have now downgraded too jellybean and the phone is flying and has no issues at all.probably a different issue with you but thought i would mention it.
The Following User Says Thank You to quizmaniac For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th January 2014, 12:15 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,252
 
1,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
You flashed the US Radio firmware. Changing ROMs won't affect that. You have to flash the UK Stock firmware image which includes the UK Radio firmware.

Related post:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...48&postcount=3
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to lost101 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #4  
plewis1981's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 57
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Hi all just thought I would post an update, I seem to have found a solution for my problem,

I had to go to network operators and select another network ( my network is giffgaff ) so I selected Vodafone, waited for the no service to kick in, then instead of selecting giffgaff I selected O2 and since then I have had NO drop outs, and its been almost 24 hours

Hope this helps.

Sent from my falcon using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to plewis1981 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by plewis1981

Hi all just thought I would post an update, I seem to have found a solution for my problem,

I had to go to network operators and select another network ( my network is giffgaff ) so I selected Vodafone, waited for the no service to kick in, then instead of selecting giffgaff I selected O2 and since then I have had NO drop outs, and its been almost 24 hours

Hope this helps.

Sent from my falcon using xda app-developers app

Good thinking,keep us informed if it continues to work as i will update mine then .
8th February 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #6  
plewis1981's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 57
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Still going strong although I have a G at the moment rather than a H , but most importantly there is always an icon there

Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect.
9th February 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #7  
plewis1981's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 57
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
STILL no visible problems with my signal

Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect.
9th February 2014, 02:19 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 40
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Red face
Id recommend to downgrade back to 4.3 mate,my girlfriends moto g (Vodafone) (fully stock not rooted or unlocked)ota to kitkat4.4 had signal issues 24/7 mine was unlocked and rooted and had intermittent signal issues, reflashed 4.3 on both and no signal loss at all,in fact data speeds improved, on giffgaff on kitkat I couldn't get over 1 Mbps at home now on jb its pulling between 2 and 5 Mbps
9th February 2014, 02:35 PM   |  #9  
plewis1981's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 57
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:

Id recommend to downgrade back to 4.3 mate,my girlfriends moto g (Vodafone) (fully stock not rooted or unlocked)ota to kitkat4.4 had signal issues 24/7 mine was unlocked and rooted and had intermittent signal issues, reflashed 4.3 on both and no signal loss at all,in fact data speeds improved, on giffgaff on kitkat I couldn't get over 1 Mbps at home now on jb its pulling between 2 and 5 Mbps

I did reflash 4.3 but got board not being able to flash any roms, as this was one of the main reasons for me buying this phone. But since connecting to O2 signal seems fine

Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes