Post Reply

[Q] how do I properly install STOCK 4.3 on how to install 4.3 on galaxy s3 SPH-L710

8th February 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #1  
rosystreasures's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag CA, USA
Thanks Meter: 33
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Hello All!

I am switching to Sprint in a few weeks and getting an S3. I believe they have 4.1.2 on them now? Anyway, I would really like to be able to update/flash STOCK 4.3 onto it. I am not new to rooting and flashing other devices (like motorolas), but have had a lot of trouble with a galaxy 7.7 tablet (I bricked it).

Could someone please tell me what I need to do?

Do I need to root first, then use odin to install stock 4.3?

Thank you so very much!
8th February 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #2  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Creole State
Thanks Meter: 173
 
803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rosystreasures

Hello All!

I am switching to Sprint in a few weeks and getting an S3. I believe they have 4.1.2 on them now? Anyway, I would really like to be able to update/flash STOCK 4.3 onto it. I am not new to rooting and flashing other devices (like motorolas), but have had a lot of trouble with a galaxy 7.7 tablet (I bricked it).

Could someone please tell me what I need to do?

Do I need to root first, then use odin to install stock 4.3?

Thank you so very much!

Is the phone your getting brand new? If so, it will come with 4.3 and KNOX security. you can always check by going to settings>about phone, read android version and baseband-if baseband ends in mk3, then it has KNOX.
Last edited by joeyhdownsouth; 8th February 2014 at 10:03 PM.
8th February 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #3  
rosystreasures's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag CA, USA
Thanks Meter: 33
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyhdownsouth

Is the phone your getting brand new? If so, it will come with 4.3 and KNOX security. you can always check by going to settings>about phone, read android version and baseband-if baseband ends in mk3, then it has KNOX.



No, I should have stated. I am getting a used GS3.
9th February 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 108
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Even if its used you can go to menu>settings>system update then update firmware and samsung software and it should give you android 4.3 with KNOX. If you are already rooted or if you don't want knox then you need odin to flash a recovery then install a rom using recovery
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes