5,815,214 Members 39,015 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Stock original etc/hosts file needed...

Tip us?
 
ChiDi9901
Old
#1  
ChiDi9901's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 206
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wien
Default Stock original etc/hosts file needed...

So can anyone just tell me if the lines in the hosts file are "stock"? I am afraid AdAway might have messed it up or something. Currently mine lookes like this:

Thanks! BTW: I am on stock Android 4.4.2

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk
 
mdamaged
Old
(Last edited by mdamaged; 9th February 2014 at 01:57 AM.)
#2  
mdamaged's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 939
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South of Heaven

 
DONATE TO ME
My stock ROM N7 2013 4.4.2 has only one entry:

127.0.0.1 localhost

FWIW, in your file, the :1 is for ipv6, it's the equivalent of 127.0.0.1, and the last entry is commented out (the #), and has no effect.

In short yours is not messed up, it's just not stock.
Kenneth, what is the frequency? Set a fire for a man, and he will stay warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will stay warm for the rest of his life.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Following User Says Thank You to mdamaged For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ChiDi9901
Old
#3  
ChiDi9901's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 206
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wien
@mdamaged thanks for the reply! I used the # to comment it out because I had problem connecting to Google server (orange WiFi bar) and this fixed my problem. What is actually the stock one? Without the last two lines? Do you think adaway or any other xposed module created the 2 lines?

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk
 
mdamaged
Old
#4  
mdamaged's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 939
Posts: 1,484
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: South of Heaven

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiDi9901 View Post
@mdamaged thanks for the reply! I used the # to comment it out because I had problem connecting to Google server (orange WiFi bar) and this fixed my problem. What is actually the stock one? Without the last two lines? Do you think adaway or any other xposed module created the 2 lines?

Gesendet von meinem Nexus 7 mit Tapatalk
No problem.

The stock one has the one line I posted.

127.0.0.1 localhost


...nothing else.

Yes, the 127.0.0.0/8 range is a rfc1122 address range, it is (normally) not routable over the internet, so indeed this would cause problems trying to connect to hosts with hostnames which have this mapped to them. This would likely be done by something which is made to stop ads being served, or from services from being contacted.

Given the hostnames being mapped I'd guess it was something trying to prevent communicating with the google services, not ad sites, not knowing what xposed modules were in use that's all I can say.
Kenneth, what is the frequency? Set a fire for a man, and he will stay warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will stay warm for the rest of his life.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes