FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Issue in Cache wipe in Stock Recovery

Thanks Meter: 83
 
By Indian Devil, Senior Member on 3rd February 2014, 04:16 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk
 
 
6th February 2014, 10:18 AM |#2  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil

Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk

Same here. It says it is wiping the cache then I get Mr. Android lying on his back with front door open and a red X on it. Then it restarts. Would love to know how to do this.
6th February 2014, 10:36 AM |#3  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil

Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk

This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.
6th February 2014, 11:25 AM |#4  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongski55

This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.

It is normal for broken functionality???
Last edited by ameiurus; 6th February 2014 at 12:46 PM.
6th February 2014, 02:22 PM |#5  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus

It is normal for broken functionality???

I do not have that android displayed after cache wipe. The phone just restarts after cache wipe. And may I add my device is i9152 which is different from your phone. Anyway I already flashed twrp and have rooted so no wipe issue.

Cheers!.
Last edited by bongski55; 7th February 2014 at 03:00 PM.
9th February 2014, 04:24 AM |#6  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?
9th February 2014, 04:57 PM |#7  
sasokutenshin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus

So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?

It's not just the stock recovery, guys. I'm experiencing the exact same thing on the latest TWRP recovery on my L600.
9th February 2014, 07:27 PM |#8  
dparrothead1's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,671
 
More
I have always used a app called CacheMate (free in the play store). Clears the cache without having to use recovery and tells you how many mb's have been cleared. You must be rooted to use this app.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes