Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,312 Members 52,784 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Issue in Cache wipe in Stock Recovery

Tip us?
 
Indian Devil
Old
#1  
Indian Devil's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 398
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Issue in Cache wipe in Stock Recovery

Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk
 
ameiurus
Old
#2  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil View Post
Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk
Same here. It says it is wiping the cache then I get Mr. Android lying on his back with front door open and a red X on it. Then it restarts. Would love to know how to do this.
--
Provider: AT&T/US
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Mega (SGH-I527)
Primary Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 (GT-P7310)
 
bongski55
Old
#3  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 209
Posts: 1,301
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil View Post
Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk
This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.
 
ameiurus
Old
(Last edited by ameiurus; 6th February 2014 at 12:46 PM.)
#4  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongski55 View Post
This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.
It is normal for broken functionality???
--
Provider: AT&T/US
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Mega (SGH-I527)
Primary Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 (GT-P7310)
 
bongski55
Old
(Last edited by bongski55; 7th February 2014 at 03:00 PM.)
#5  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 209
Posts: 1,301
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus View Post
It is normal for broken functionality???
I do not have that android displayed after cache wipe. The phone just restarts after cache wipe. And may I add my device is i9152 which is different from your phone. Anyway I already flashed twrp and have rooted so no wipe issue.

Cheers!.
 
ameiurus
Old
#6  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 284
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?
--
Provider: AT&T/US
Primary Device: Samsung Galaxy Mega (SGH-I527)
Primary Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 (GT-P7310)
 
sasokutenshin
Old
#7  
sasokutenshin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 347
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus View Post
So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?
It's not just the stock recovery, guys. I'm experiencing the exact same thing on the latest TWRP recovery on my L600.
 
dparrothead1
Old
#8  
dparrothead1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1426
Posts: 2,172
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida
I have always used a app called CacheMate (free in the play store). Clears the cache without having to use recovery and tells you how many mb's have been cleared. You must be rooted to use this app.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using xda app-developers app
Sent from my rooted i527.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more

Calc+ is a Smart and Beautiful Android Calculator

As we’ve said inthe past, there are quite a few calculators available on Android. … more

Get Better Debug Data with Crash Report SDK

Developing an application is a hard and often times ungratifying task. It also requires quite a … more

Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more