Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

Issue in Cache wipe in Stock Recovery

OP Indian Devil

3rd February 2014, 04:16 PM   |  #1  
Indian Devil's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk
6th February 2014, 10:18 AM   |  #2  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil

Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk

Same here. It says it is wiping the cache then I get Mr. Android lying on his back with front door open and a red X on it. Then it restarts. Would love to know how to do this.
6th February 2014, 10:36 AM   |  #3  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indian Devil

Hey all

Anyone tried wiping cache in Stock recovery?

When I did , the mobile rebooted without the confirmation of cache being wiped.

Wipe data & factory reset is working fine but not wipe cache.

I am not rooted and I am on latest version.

Will anyone try and confirm if thats the case with all or is it just me?

Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Tapatalk

This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.
6th February 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #4  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongski55

This is normal for the i9152. No issues associated with this.

It is normal for broken functionality???
Last edited by ameiurus; 6th February 2014 at 12:46 PM.
6th February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #5  
bongski55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus

It is normal for broken functionality???

I do not have that android displayed after cache wipe. The phone just restarts after cache wipe. And may I add my device is i9152 which is different from your phone. Anyway I already flashed twrp and have rooted so no wipe issue.

Cheers!.
Last edited by bongski55; 7th February 2014 at 03:00 PM.
9th February 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #6  
ameiurus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Deep in the heart of Texas
Thanks Meter: 6
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?
9th February 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #7  
sasokutenshin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 84
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ameiurus

So is there a way to know that cache has been wiped?

It's not just the stock recovery, guys. I'm experiencing the exact same thing on the latest TWRP recovery on my L600.
9th February 2014, 07:27 PM   |  #8  
dparrothead1's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,442
 
2,197 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I have always used a app called CacheMate (free in the play store). Clears the cache without having to use recovery and tells you how many mb's have been cleared. You must be rooted to use this app.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I527 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes