Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Switching to S4 from S4 how to migrate data

OP sheriffwoody

9th February 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
So I am going from a rooted 4.3 S3 to a rooted 4.3 S4. I used Titanium Backup pro, but when I restore on the S4 I get flooded with process errors. The apps and data are there, just lots of process errors every 5 seconds.
They are both stock ROMS.
Is there a way to bring the apps/data over to the S4 from the S3 easily???
Thanks in advance!
Dave
9th February 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More info
Here is some more info about my issue.
So I am not worried about CONTACTS, PICTURES OR VIDEOS
What I am interested in is bringing over all of my APPS and their SETTINGS.
I use APEX for my home-screen etc, so when I bring the app over to the S4 I would like to bring over the app settings.
Titanium Backup will backup all of a phones setting, apps, etc... but can I use this to transfer to a new phone? (S3 to S4)?
thoughts???



Quote:
Originally Posted by sheriffwoody

So I am going from a rooted 4.3 S3 to a rooted 4.3 S4. I used Titanium Backup pro, but when I restore on the S4 I get flooded with process errors. The apps and data are there, just lots of process errors every 5 seconds.
They are both stock ROMS.
Is there a way to bring the apps/data over to the S4 from the S3 easily???
Thanks in advance!
Dave

9th February 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Bel Air
Thanks Meter: 53
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheriffwoody

Here is some more info about my issue.
So I am not worried about CONTACTS, PICTURES OR VIDEOS
What I am interested in is bringing over all of my APPS and their SETTINGS.
I use APEX for my home-screen etc, so when I bring the app over to the S4 I would like to bring over the app settings.
Titanium Backup will backup all of a phones setting, apps, etc... but can I use this to transfer to a new phone? (S3 to S4)?
thoughts???

I think you'd be better served to simply bite the bullet and reinstall your apps from the Play Store and start from scratch.
The Following User Says Thank You to douger1957 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,521
 
3,495 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
This is probably possible, but will almost definitely cause issues. Besides, if it takes you more than an hour to get all your apps installed on your new phone you got too many apps lol. I know it can suck with losing data inside of some apps, but any worthwhile one has proper individual migration methods usually through Google Play Services or some other cloud server.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes