Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,174 Members 35,830 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Switching to S4 from S4 how to migrate data

Tip us?
 
sheriffwoody
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Switching to S4 from S4 how to migrate data

So I am going from a rooted 4.3 S3 to a rooted 4.3 S4. I used Titanium Backup pro, but when I restore on the S4 I get flooded with process errors. The apps and data are there, just lots of process errors every 5 seconds.
They are both stock ROMS.
Is there a way to bring the apps/data over to the S4 from the S3 easily???
Thanks in advance!
Dave
 
sheriffwoody
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default More info

Here is some more info about my issue.
So I am not worried about CONTACTS, PICTURES OR VIDEOS
What I am interested in is bringing over all of my APPS and their SETTINGS.
I use APEX for my home-screen etc, so when I bring the app over to the S4 I would like to bring over the app settings.
Titanium Backup will backup all of a phones setting, apps, etc... but can I use this to transfer to a new phone? (S3 to S4)?
thoughts???



Quote:
Originally Posted by sheriffwoody View Post
So I am going from a rooted 4.3 S3 to a rooted 4.3 S4. I used Titanium Backup pro, but when I restore on the S4 I get flooded with process errors. The apps and data are there, just lots of process errors every 5 seconds.
They are both stock ROMS.
Is there a way to bring the apps/data over to the S4 from the S3 easily???
Thanks in advance!
Dave
 
douger1957
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 435
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bel Air
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheriffwoody View Post
Here is some more info about my issue.
So I am not worried about CONTACTS, PICTURES OR VIDEOS
What I am interested in is bringing over all of my APPS and their SETTINGS.
I use APEX for my home-screen etc, so when I bring the app over to the S4 I would like to bring over the app settings.
Titanium Backup will backup all of a phones setting, apps, etc... but can I use this to transfer to a new phone? (S3 to S4)?
thoughts???
I think you'd be better served to simply bite the bullet and reinstall your apps from the Play Store and start from scratch.


Verizon Samsung Galaxy 4 Hyperdrive ROM RLS 14 Safestrapped on MK2 Base
The Following User Says Thank You to douger1957 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joshm.1219
Old
#4  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,335
Posts: 3,149
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
This is probably possible, but will almost definitely cause issues. Besides, if it takes you more than an hour to get all your apps installed on your new phone you got too many apps lol. I know it can suck with losing data inside of some apps, but any worthwhile one has proper individual migration methods usually through Google Play Services or some other cloud server.
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: Verizon
  • PHONE: Samsung S4 HTC One Max
  • CASE: Otterbox Defender modded to fit Anker 7800mah battery HTC PowerFlip
  • BOOTLOADER: MDK, loki bypass S-OFF & Relocked
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7.x
  • KERNEL: Ktoonsez with Project Icarus profile and Hydra script FlyKernel
  • ROM: Eclipse TW 4.4 Adrenaline Sense 6
  • LAUNCHER & MODS: Google Now launcher with XGEL settings, GravityBox, Heads Up notifications, & Android L navbar
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes