XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

device status stuck on custom

OP master4953

9th February 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
so i corrupted the efs on my SM-N900W8 note 3 but i used a method flashing a efs script reset and the phone booted up perfectly. But for some reason no matter how much i factory reset or flash stock roms i cannot get the phone to go back to offical status.

Please help thanks alot guys.
9th February 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Why do you need it to go back to official status may I ask? Do you need to send it back for repair?

As far as I know if you either root, flash custom recovery or kernel it will always stay at custom. In my case, the only time it goes back to official is when I use odin to flash back the rogers stock rom.
Last edited by hey_joe; 10th February 2014 at 12:00 AM.
10th February 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hey_joe

Why do you need it to go back to official status may I ask? Do you need to send it back for repair?

As far as I know if you either root, flash custom recovery or kernel it will always stay at custom. In my case, the only time it goes back to official is when I use odin to flash back the rogers stock

rom.

I have a buyer who doesn't mind the Knox trip but would like to have it set to official please help.
10th February 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by master4953

I have a buyer who doesn't mind the Knox trip but would like to have it set to official please help.

I suggest you download your provider's official firmware then flash through odin.
10th February 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hey_joe

I suggest you download your provider's official firmware then flash through odin.

Well I bought it from Rogers( which I regret) but it is now on the wind network so which one should I flash ?
10th February 2014, 01:12 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by master4953

Well I bought it from Rogers( which I regret) but it is now on the wind network so which one should I flash ?

It's originally Rogers so I suggest you use Rogers. Unfortunately you will have to download it from sammobile ( unless you can find an alternative ) since the link I use isn't working anymore. Download the MJ4 since it's the latest one from them.

edit: found a live link here.
Last edited by hey_joe; 10th February 2014 at 01:14 AM. Reason: added link
10th February 2014, 01:15 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hey_joe

It's originally Rogers so I suggest you use Rogers. Unfortunately you will have to download it from sammobile ( unless you can find an alternative ) since the link I use isn't working anymore. Download the MJ4 since it's the latest one from them.

I hope this works cause I have been flashing wind stock roms all day
10th February 2014, 01:16 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 329
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by master4953

I hope this works cause I have been flashing wind stock roms all day

It will work. The reason you're getting custom despite flashing stock rom from wind is because the phone is originally rogers and if anything other than that is flashed, it will show as custom.
10th February 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hey_joe

It will work. The reason you're getting custom despite flashing stock rom from wind is because the phone is originally rogers and if anything other than that is flashed, it will show as custom.

okay but i used to flash wind stock roms all the time and never had this issue but any hoo im downloading the firmware now i will flash it and i will definitely get back to you thank for your help

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank