Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problem when restoring

OP aintaqin

8th February 2014, 06:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Hi, I used online nandroid Backup to do my ROM backup to external sdcard. While fiddling with some app installation, something I don't like happened and I wanted to restore my ROM, so I did CWM recovery and restore the backup that I already did. Restoration process was successful but after reboot, I got all kinds of pop-ups saying that "Unfortunately so-and-so has stopped" (or something to that extent) and it just wont stop popping-up, one after another. Even after it finally stopped, whenever I wanted to open an app, the whole cycle started again. What seemed to be the problem here? Did I do a bad backup or is it something else?

Appreciate your input. Thanks
9th February 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aintaqin

Hi, I used online nandroid Backup to do my ROM backup to external sdcard. While fiddling with some app installation, something I don't like happened and I wanted to restore my ROM, so I did CWM recovery and restore the backup that I already did. Restoration process was successful but after reboot, I got all kinds of pop-ups saying that "Unfortunately so-and-so has stopped" (or something to that extent) and it just wont stop popping-up, one after another. Even after it finally stopped, whenever I wanted to open an app, the whole cycle started again. What seemed to be the problem here? Did I do a bad backup or is it something else?

Appreciate your input. Thanks

I just reflashed the ROM and start all over again.

Still, why can't I just restored everything back to the way it was before?

Anybody?

Thanks a million
9th February 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #3  
geekynoob's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 2,378
 
3,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aintaqin

I just reflashed the ROM and start all over again.

Still, why can't I just restored everything back to the way it was before?

Anybody?

Thanks a million

what was the backup u were reinstalling??
do a full wipe and then reinstall..! It works for me always
10th February 2014, 05:17 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekynoob

what was the backup u were reinstalling??
do a full wipe and then reinstall..! It works for me always

You mean do a full wipe and try restoring the backup again in recovery? And you can get back to the state that you were before?

I reflashed the ROM which is a hassle because you have to start again from scratch with all the settings and accounts.

Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes