Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Why are there bars when there is no SIM card in my G2?

OP hydeah

7th February 2014, 06:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 18
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
The reception signal shows 4 to 5 bars, it is changing, there is no simcard installed on the phone. What are the bars for?
I actually get fewer bars when I have a SIM card in it (sad state of AT&T)
7th February 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
130 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
911 emergency calling I would guess
7th February 2014, 03:47 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Yes, when you have no card inserted, it latches to the strongest signals for 911.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
10th February 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
New York
Thanks Meter: 18
 
352 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Thanks guys, all other phones I had displayed no bars or had X on reception but still allowed 911.
I see LG G2 displays the signal strength even with no SIM.
10th February 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #5  
GalaxySIIII's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
938 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydeah

Thanks guys, all other phones I had displayed no bars or had X on reception but still allowed 911.
I see LG G2 displays the signal strength even with no SIM.

even galaxy s4 has signal bars without sim ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iE8bsRuZs8M
Last edited by GalaxySIIII; 10th February 2014 at 09:49 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes