Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,819 Members 41,253 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Why are there bars when there is no SIM card in my G2?

Tip us?
 
hydeah
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 351
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Default [Q] Why are there bars when there is no SIM card in my G2?

The reception signal shows 4 to 5 bars, it is changing, there is no simcard installed on the phone. What are the bars for?
I actually get fewer bars when I have a SIM card in it (sad state of AT&T)
 
bigcletus
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 103
Join Date: Feb 2008
911 emergency calling I would guess
 
honest1212
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 295
Join Date: Oct 2007
Yes, when you have no card inserted, it latches to the strongest signals for 911.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
 
hydeah
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 351
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Thanks guys, all other phones I had displayed no bars or had X on reception but still allowed 911.
I see LG G2 displays the signal strength even with no SIM.
 
GalaxySIIII
Old
(Last edited by GalaxySIIII; 10th February 2014 at 08:49 AM.)
#5  
GalaxySIIII's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 938
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydeah View Post
Thanks guys, all other phones I had displayed no bars or had X on reception but still allowed 911.
I see LG G2 displays the signal strength even with no SIM.
even galaxy s4 has signal bars without sim ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iE8bsRuZs8M
Vivo X3S (mine)
LG F320S (SOLD!)
LG F180S (GF's)
SmartAss®
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes