Post Reply

CWM Will only install CM11 - Official ROMs Abort

OP DannyBoy

10th February 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Norwich, UK
Thanks Meter: 0
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2003
I have Phil Touch 6.0.4.5 CWM installed.

I put this on to try CM11. Didn't like it so re-flashed the the latest official ROM and its been running fine for a while now.

Theres a new official update out I wanted to try but flashing via CWM it says "Installation aborted".

I then tried the older official ROM and this too aborts hower CM11 installs fine.

Any ideas? I am Wiping ROM and clearing Cache.
10th February 2014, 09:05 AM   |  #2  
Silesh.Nair's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Gods Own Country
Thanks Meter: 4,334
 
2,640 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
You cannot flash official updates with custom recovery. You need the stock recovery for it.

A word of caution. The new OTA update most likely has knox. If you plan to try out other custom roms, refrain from flashing. If you are only a stock rom user, flash away.
Last edited by Silesh.Nair; 10th February 2014 at 10:25 AM.
10th February 2014, 01:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Norwich, UK
Thanks Meter: 0
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silesh.Nair

You cannot flash official updates with custom recovery. You need the stock recovery for it.

A word of caution. The new OTA update most likely has knox. If you plan to try out other custom roms, refrain from flashing. If you are only a stock rom user, flash away.

Thats odd. I could have sworn I reflashed the official rom using CWM.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Can I still enter standard recovery having CWM on there or do I need to reflash via a standard recovery via odin?
10th February 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #4  
Silesh.Nair's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Gods Own Country
Thanks Meter: 4,334
 
2,640 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
You need to flash one using Odin. If you have a flashable recovery zip file, you can replace the recovery image in the zip file with a stock one.

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes