Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Do I have to run a Verizon ROM?

OP ZackFearheart

10th February 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Columbus
Thanks Meter: 8
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I currently have my phone on Straight Talk network, I am no longer with Verizon and wondering... Do I have to run Verizon ROMs on this phone? Or is it different from, Let's say... AT&T hardware?
10th February 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #2  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Syracuse, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,165
 
1,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Yes you still need to run the Verizon ROM because of the bootloader being locked.
10th February 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Columbus
Thanks Meter: 8
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

Yes you still need to run the Verizon ROM because of the bootloader being locked.

That's a bummer. I'm getting a little irritated with the persistent icon telling me I have a Non-Verizon SIM in my phone. Any ideas of the bootloader will ever be able to be unlocked?
10th February 2014, 01:17 AM   |  #4  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Syracuse, NY
Thanks Meter: 1,165
 
1,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Your guess is as good as mine on the bootloader being unlocked. Time will tell.
10th February 2014, 10:13 AM   |  #5  
adoublearonn's Avatar
Senior Member
Detroit, MI
Thanks Meter: 45
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZackFearheart

That's a bummer. I'm getting a little irritated with the persistent icon telling me I have a Non-Verizon SIM in my phone. Any ideas of the bootloader will ever be able to be unlocked?

If you're rooted, install Xposed and then install the NotifyClean module and get rid of that icon. This is assuming the icon is an ongoing notification...

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
10th February 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Columbus
Thanks Meter: 8
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adoublearonn

If you're rooted, install Xposed and then install the NotifyClean module and get rid of that icon. This is assuming the icon is an ongoing notification...

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app

It was for the longest time, Now it's gone. Thankfully. if it comes back, I'll use that. Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes