Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,846 Members 37,314 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Do I have to run a Verizon ROM?

Tip us?
 
ZackFearheart
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbus
Default Do I have to run a Verizon ROM?

I currently have my phone on Straight Talk network, I am no longer with Verizon and wondering... Do I have to run Verizon ROMs on this phone? Or is it different from, Let's say... AT&T hardware?
 
Misterxtc
Old
#2  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 907
Posts: 956
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Yes you still need to run the Verizon ROM because of the bootloader being locked.
 
ZackFearheart
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc View Post
Yes you still need to run the Verizon ROM because of the bootloader being locked.
That's a bummer. I'm getting a little irritated with the persistent icon telling me I have a Non-Verizon SIM in my phone. Any ideas of the bootloader will ever be able to be unlocked?
 
Misterxtc
Old
#4  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 907
Posts: 956
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Your guess is as good as mine on the bootloader being unlocked. Time will tell.
 
adoublearonn
Old
#5  
adoublearonn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 157
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Detroit, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZackFearheart View Post
That's a bummer. I'm getting a little irritated with the persistent icon telling me I have a Non-Verizon SIM in my phone. Any ideas of the bootloader will ever be able to be unlocked?
If you're rooted, install Xposed and then install the NotifyClean module and get rid of that icon. This is assuming the icon is an ongoing notification...

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
 
ZackFearheart
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 164
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbus
Quote:
Originally Posted by adoublearonn View Post
If you're rooted, install Xposed and then install the NotifyClean module and get rid of that icon. This is assuming the icon is an ongoing notification...

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
It was for the longest time, Now it's gone. Thankfully. if it comes back, I'll use that. Thanks!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Old but Gold Internet Browser is a Blast from the Past

A Web browser is one of these applications that we can’t live without. We useit … more

Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more