Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,031 Members 44,815 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sim card error

Tip us?
 
Buzkil
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Sim card error

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssn713 View Post
Not saying that I doubt your results but... after getting the return authorization from at&t, I returned to stock (mdb) and allowed the phone to take the ota to mf3. I then checked for updates and went straight to mk2. Continued to get "sim not installed" error despite having the latest firmware.

Hope the op can replicate your results but it didn't work for me. Maybe the phone gods just hate me.
Turns out it did not work for me like I thought. Went a full week without an error and it started again. The phone gods hate both of us. It appears to be a common issue from the posts I've been reading.
 
shamelin73
Old
#12  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzkil View Post
Gave you a new what, sim card or phone? I had this same issue with my S4, and it was because I had failed to stop the OTA update while rooted. The issue went from intermittent to toatally disabling my phone in a period of about 1 month. After one full week of without phone service due to no sim card found (rebooting no longer worked), I had to unroot and allow the OTA update to MK2 FW. My sim card issue immediately went away.
They gave me a new sim card.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
 
shamelin73
Old
#13  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
Just talked to a coworker that had the same phone he too is having this issue. I am just going to send to Samsung. They approved the RMA. I am not sure but with so many having this issue could it be a software glitch?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
 
shamelin73
Old
#14  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
Just got the phone back from Samsung. They sent me the same phone back and said they replaced the SIM tray.

Everything is working fine now.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
 
shamelin73
Old
#15  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
Bah same issue called Samsung they replaced the lcd by mistake.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
 
shamelin73
Old
#16  
shamelin73's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 398
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Naperville

 
DONATE TO ME
Just received the second phone back and they say they replaced the phone this time. I am not having issues and has been a day now with the new phone.

Just want to see if it is still unlocked as I have the same serial number and IMEI.
Scott

AT&T Samsung Galaxy S II SOLD
Nokia Lumia 900 SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S III SOLD
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S IV
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...