Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Attempting FIREWATER on VZ 4.3 w/ MAC: cannot find phone in fastboot [SOLVED]

OP -XIV-

10th February 2014, 07:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I'm attempting to use FIREWATER to ROOT my phone because I do not like the changes of 4.4.

I have a Mac and attempting to prepare to use FIREWATER to get my phone S-Off/rooted but when I'm in terminal, I cannot get my phone to show up when prompting "./fastboot devices."

I followed this video guide: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0MyTvgfO7s#t=433



Any help would be appreciated
Last edited by -XIV-; 10th February 2014 at 09:38 PM.
10th February 2014, 10:49 AM   |  #2  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,130
 
6,306 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -XIV-

I'm attempting to use FIREWATER to ROOT my phone because I do not like the changes of 4.4.

I have a Mac and attempting to prepare to use FIREWATER to get my phone S-Off/rooted but when I'm in terminal, I cannot get my phone to show up when prompting "./fastboot devices."

I followed this video guide: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V0MyTvgfO7s#t=433



Any help would be appreciated

Are you in bootloader/FASTBOOT USB (screenshot attached)? ./fastboot devices only works in bootloader

./adb devices only works in custom recovery or booted up phone (with USB debugging enabled)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3- hboot 1.44.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	174.9 KB
ID:	2570590  
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 07:23 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Are you in bootloader/FASTBOOT USB (screenshot attached)? ./fastboot devices only works in bootloader

./adb devices only works in custom recovery or booted up phone (with USB debugging enabled)

I was in "fastboot" after I did "hold down volume and power button"

I've been trying to figure out how to make sure i have "USB debugging enabled" when this HTC One doesn't give me the option flat out in settings like my previous Androids did (HTC Rezound, Galaxy S3, Thunderbolt, etc.)
10th February 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,130
 
6,306 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -XIV-

I was in "fastboot" after I did "hold down volume and power button"

I've been trying to figure out how to make sure i have "USB debugging enabled" when this HTC One doesn't give me the option flat out in settings like my previous Androids did (HTC Rezound, Galaxy S3, Thunderbolt, etc.)

go to Settings -> About -> Software information -> More -> and press build number 8 times, the dev options will show up
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

go to Settings -> About -> Software information -> More -> and press build number 8 times, the dev options will show up

Wow. Feel like an idiot that I did not know this...

But have that and I'm in the menu you screenshooted. I attempted "./adb reboot" but still not picking up device. It did list a random # though when I did "./fastboot devices" to see if it showed it's connecting.

Edit: Do I select "bootloader" from the list?

2nd Edit: I'VE COMPLETED THIS!! I'M NOW S-OFF and UNLOCKED!!! Thanks so much!!
Last edited by -XIV-; 10th February 2014 at 08:03 PM.
10th February 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #6  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,130
 
6,306 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -XIV-

2nd Edit: I'VE COMPLETED THIS!! I'M NOW S-OFF and UNLOCKED!!! Thanks so much!!

Congrats mate, welcome to the dark side

please edit main thread title to include [SOLVED]
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes