Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Latest Firmware Fails Fastboot

OP o350125

6th February 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
When I try to update my firmware to the 4.06.6514 firmware. I follow the directions in the thread, but when I issue the flashboot flash zip firmware.zip it fails with the following:

target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (20935 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.217s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) adopting the signature contained in this image...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
finished. total time: 2.465s

The download seems OK, it passed the md5 check, etc... I haven't seen anyone else with this problem while looking around. Any ideas?

Thanks!
6th February 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #2  
Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Did you update with the modified or unmodified firmware?

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
6th February 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #3  
Aldo101t's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 1,403
 
3,321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

When I try to update my firmware to the 4.06.6514 firmware. I follow the directions in the thread, but when I issue the flashboot flash zip firmware.zip it fails with the following:

target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (20935 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.217s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) adopting the signature contained in this image...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
finished. total time: 2.465s

The download seems OK, it passed the md5 check, etc... I haven't seen anyone else with this problem while looking around. Any ideas?

Thanks!

DID YOU TRY reentering the command : fastboot flash zip firmware.zip imediately after the error(works sometimes) did you rename the download zip to firmware/
6th February 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #4  
Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I flashed the unmodified firmware for the 3.05 firmware with the 1.55 hboot and got a similar message. I just rebooted and everything was fine.

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #5  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,196
 
8,552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Yeah we need some more info
S-ON or S-OFF?
Modified or unmodified firmware?
7th February 2014, 05:33 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Yeah we need some more info
S-ON or S-OFF?
Modified or unmodified firmware?

I was trying the unmodified firmware, and I believe that I AM S-ON, as I have never done anything special to get S-OFF.

I did try reissuing the command immediately after the fail a couple of times, and I did rename the firmware file as downloaded to firmware.zip

Thanks again!
7th February 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #7  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,196
 
8,552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

I was trying the unmodified firmware, and I believe that I AM S-ON, as I have never done anything special to get S-OFF.

I did try reissuing the command immediately after the fail a couple of times, and I did rename the firmware file as downloaded to firmware.zip

Thanks again!

Did you re-lock your bootloader?
11th February 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Did you re-lock your bootloader?

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.
11th February 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.

yeah you have to relock your bootloader for the firmware to flash successfully. you can do this through the command "fastboot oem lock" in cmd that you opened in the same folder location as your fastboot binaries

BUT be careful because if you do this you will lose everything on your phone, including all of the stuff you have on your internal storage, etc. i just performed this operation yesterday and had gotten that same error before i re-locked
The Following User Says Thank You to Vember31 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #10  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,196
 
8,552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.

If you are S-ON you do indeed have to re-lock your bootloader

The Following User Says Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes