FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Latest Firmware Fails Fastboot

6th February 2014, 06:31 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
When I try to update my firmware to the 4.06.6514 firmware. I follow the directions in the thread, but when I issue the flashboot flash zip firmware.zip it fails with the following:

target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (20935 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.217s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) adopting the signature contained in this image...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
finished. total time: 2.465s

The download seems OK, it passed the md5 check, etc... I haven't seen anyone else with this problem while looking around. Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
 
6th February 2014, 07:03 PM |#2  
Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Did you update with the modified or unmodified firmware?

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
6th February 2014, 07:06 PM |#3  
Aldo101t's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 1,568
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

When I try to update my firmware to the 4.06.6514 firmware. I follow the directions in the thread, but when I issue the flashboot flash zip firmware.zip it fails with the following:

target reported max download size of 1526722560 bytes
sending 'zip' (20935 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.217s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) adopting the signature contained in this image...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
(bootloader) Read zipped android_info fail
FAILED (remote: 99 unknown fail)
finished. total time: 2.465s

The download seems OK, it passed the md5 check, etc... I haven't seen anyone else with this problem while looking around. Any ideas?

Thanks!

DID YOU TRY reentering the command : fastboot flash zip firmware.zip imediately after the error(works sometimes) did you rename the download zip to firmware/
6th February 2014, 07:56 PM |#4  
Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
I flashed the unmodified firmware for the 3.05 firmware with the 1.55 hboot and got a similar message. I just rebooted and everything was fine.

Sent from my HTCONE using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 03:31 AM |#5  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 9,031
 
Donate to Me
More
Yeah we need some more info
S-ON or S-OFF?
Modified or unmodified firmware?
7th February 2014, 04:33 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Yeah we need some more info
S-ON or S-OFF?
Modified or unmodified firmware?

I was trying the unmodified firmware, and I believe that I AM S-ON, as I have never done anything special to get S-OFF.

I did try reissuing the command immediately after the fail a couple of times, and I did rename the firmware file as downloaded to firmware.zip

Thanks again!
7th February 2014, 05:07 PM |#7  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 9,031
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

I was trying the unmodified firmware, and I believe that I AM S-ON, as I have never done anything special to get S-OFF.

I did try reissuing the command immediately after the fail a couple of times, and I did rename the firmware file as downloaded to firmware.zip

Thanks again!

Did you re-lock your bootloader?
11th February 2014, 12:08 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Did you re-lock your bootloader?

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.
11th February 2014, 03:05 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.

yeah you have to relock your bootloader for the firmware to flash successfully. you can do this through the command "fastboot oem lock" in cmd that you opened in the same folder location as your fastboot binaries

BUT be careful because if you do this you will lose everything on your phone, including all of the stuff you have on your internal storage, etc. i just performed this operation yesterday and had gotten that same error before i re-locked
The Following User Says Thank You to Vember31 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 05:36 AM |#10  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 9,031
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by o350125

Is that something that you're supposed to do before updating? I'd never heard of that.

If you are S-ON you do indeed have to re-lock your bootloader
The Following User Says Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes