Post Reply

[Q] bootloader status: partition table is invalid

OP skinnyveganboy

20th January 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #1  
skinnyveganboy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Victorville, CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Has anyone found a fix for this? All I can find are posts from people who say they had this same issue and then no answer to how to fix it.

This is a stock tablet, never been rooted. Only used for regular people tasks like checking email and such. It's never been modded in any way.

I'm stuck in APX mode. Can't get into BL, Recovery, and can't boot.

When I power on I get black screen with no logo or vibration and power light is white. Doesn't matter what vol button I press during boot.

Here's my notes so far:

Code:
uid: 0x037c6249429fd257
0x83831E00 0xE406F106 0x0B4F1504 0xAA2C2103

creating partition: BCT
failed executing command 16 NvError 0x120002
command failure: create failed (bad data)
bootloader status: failed to create the partition (code: 10) message: nverror:0x
42008 (0x2042008) flags: 0

sending file: flash.bct
- 4080/4080 bytes sent
flash.bct sent successfully
odm data: 0x300d8011
downloading bootloader -- load address: 0x108000 entry point: 0x108000
sending file: bootloader.bin
| 714385/714385 bytes sent
bootloader.bin sent successfully
waiting for bootloader to initialize
bootloader downloaded successfully
failed executing command 25 NvError 0x120002
command failure: sync failed (bad data)
bootloader status: partition table is invalid, missing required information (code: 14) message: nverror:0x42008 (0x2042008) flags: 0

rc_ics_twrp_v213.img
bootloader_v8.bin

bootloader status: partition table is invalid, missing required information (cod
e: 14)
Code:
BabSector

Nvflash started
rcm version 0X20001
System Information:
   chip name: t20
   chip id: 0x20 major: 1 minor: 4
   chip sku: 0x8
   chip uid: 0x037c6249429fd257
   macrovision: disabled
   hdcp: enabled
   sbk burned: true
   dk burned: true
   boot device: emmc
   operating mode: 4
   device config strap: 0
   device config fuse: 0
   sdram config strap: 0

sending file: flash.bct
- 4080/4080 bytes sent
flash.bct sent successfully
odm data: 0xb00d8011
downloading bootloader -- load address: 0x108000 entry point: 0x108000
sending file: bootloader.bin
| 714409/714409 bytes sent
bootloader.bin sent successfully
waiting for bootloader to initialize
bootloader downloaded successfully
setting device: 2 3
creating partition: BCT
failed executing command 16 NvError 0x120002
command failure: create failed (bad data)
bootloader status: failed to create the partition (code: 10) message: nverror:0x
42008 (0x2042008) flags: 0
What I've tried:
  • AfterOTA
  • Blackthund3r's APX nvflash tool
  • manual nvflash
  • ICS and HC BL and Recoveries
  • editing the flash.cfg file to point to different BL and Recovery img's and bin's.
  • BabSector
  • Timmy Dean's APX Flash tool (got as far as: "Upgrade is underway" then it hangs.)
  • ALL of http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...89&postcount=2

What I haven't tried:
  • Something that works...

Thanks to anyone who has answer.

UPDATE 1/20/2014:

From what I'm reading on the forums it appears as though my a500 has a faulty memory chip on the motherboard as per this post:
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz

Download Links to Unbrick your Tab
This can happen "just like that" for no particular reason or after an OTA - if this is the case, its more than likely caused by a faulty memory chip on the motherboard - the ONLY fix for this is a replacement m/b from Acer..

Last edited by skinnyveganboy; 20th January 2014 at 12:27 PM.
24th January 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
you are not alone!
I don't really have anything useful to offer other than "me too." Same exact results.

At this point, I have tried just about everything I have read (it's a brick, what more damage can I possibly do?) to no avail. If I find anything else, I will certainly post back!

D
30th January 2014, 09:07 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
is there no a500-healing wonder?
i can enter apx mode, execute nvflash from babsector or timmydean and get always errors concerning the creation of something (see pics) is this a hardware error, does it concern read/write rights or something else?

i thought, i could reinstall the device, but as a far as i read this is not that easy...
is there no possibility to erase the whole thing and start from nothing?

on the other hand, i can get into recovery mode, the green guy lies on his back and seems to be in maintainance. injecting several (about 5) update.zip on sd card went up to 95% ONCE ... and never again.

i will not directly sceam out for help, but if there is an possibility to get the device running, i am very interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	91
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	2549468   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	77
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	2549469  
31st January 2014, 05:25 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Shake City
Thanks Meter: 444
 
1,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreike

i can enter apx mode, execute nvflash from babsector or timmydean and get always errors concerning the creation of something (see pics) is this a hardware error, does it concern read/write rights or something else?

i thought, i could reinstall the device, but as a far as i read this is not that easy...
is there no possibility to erase the whole thing and start from nothing?

on the other hand, i can get into recovery mode, the green guy lies on his back and seems to be in maintainance. injecting several (about 5) update.zip on sd card went up to 95% ONCE ... and never again.

i will not directly sceam out for help, but if there is an possibility to get the device running, i am very interested.

There is no real solution for your problem. From your pics the first one shows the faulty emmc.

The "bct write error" in the 2nd one. Well theres only apxflash that can repair that, but as you've found its not foolproof - in your case I would suggest that both these errors together are fairly strong indicator you have a faulty memory chip.

A couple of folks recently have managed to get acer to repair their tabs for free, even tho they have been out of warranty - so thats worth exploring -
There have also been new motherboards on ebay $50 US and others have had joy replacing them themselves.

Not the news I guess you were looking for, sorry bout that
rgds dibb
The Following User Says Thank You to dibb_nz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 08:51 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Battery Low
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz


Not the news I guess you were looking for, sorry bout that
rgds dibb

right and wrong
at least it is constructive news not leading to another how-to(-get-rid-of-your-leisure), even without growing motherboards on my balcony.
the funny thing is: i have a second a500 with the same error. i bought them (one by accident) used as they were announced having a bootloop. my mobile had one, too, that was easy to solve, so i thouhgt - as my mobile is older than the tablets - shouldnt be a problem to fix. vital error, it seems.

iŽll try to get one mainboard, but they are pretty expensive compared to the devices prices.

many thanks for your reply
1st February 2014, 12:14 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
solved
hey guys, have look here, worked for me:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49951540
1st February 2014, 10:52 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Shake City
Thanks Meter: 444
 
1,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreike

hey guys, have look here, worked for me:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49951540

Hey @kreike nice link. Can I ask did yr tab keep powering off when it was broke? Another user has this issue, bab sector shows no errors but on reboot the tab boots but powers down more or less straight away???

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk
1st February 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dibb_nz

nice link. Can I ask did yr tab keep powering off when it was broke?

Hello dibb_nz

the two devices i own did not power off spontanously in any state. it happend after about 5 or 10 or more minutes stuck on acer logo, they turned off, but this happend on both devices, so i did not keep it as unusual.
since i baked them today and installed 3.2.1 for instant, they behave mostly normal. only in case of using flashplayer with firefox beta, i had two spontanous "shutdown & restart-events" on one device. this may be caused by FF beta and flash. Other flash-apps work properly.

i am reallly happy about the oven-hint, i was already watching out for a new board. not easy to get one for less than 70 Dollar from the other end of the world. i hope some other can benefit from the oven-method, too.
1st February 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Shake City
Thanks Meter: 444
 
1,568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Hey thanx 4 the kwik reply m8 plsd u up n running again and hope all goes well

Sent from my HTC_PN071 using Tapatalk
11th February 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
i'm glad to see this oven method worked for a couple people. I have a SKINOMI Case on my tab so I will probably have to remove that to get to the board, but better that then to still have a bricked tablet. I hope it works!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes