Post Reply

[Q] ROOTED and lost

OP sgh599n

7th February 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi XDA Community. First I want to say thank you to all the devs, programmers, technical people, and anyone that helps out with XDA. It's a real treasure for Android users. I am a noob pretty much regarding Android however I pick up fast. Recently I rooted my phone and it just isnt what I expected, I guess I imagined my device turning into a super-cellphone or something. Anyway I've picked up some rooted apps (Tuners, Titanium, etc) however I really don't know enough about Android to go around playing. I have a few questions maybe someone would take the time to answer. Thanks.

1. I play a social game on my phone and it has a really clumsy way of switching between accounts. I'd like to have two instances of the game instead of one, where each instance launches a different account. Is this possible?

2. Is there any widget or button where I could manually switch my processor from underclock to maximum power without delving into a program? Also a switch between max screen brightness and minimum screen brightness would be nice.

3. How can I find out more about Android and various apps services and processes? I can't sort through them to disable them if I dont know what they are. I would like to delete any bloatware from my carrier. I favor a very lite load on my phone that conserves battery because all I really do is make calls, text, and play few games at this moment.

4. Last one ... I have to pay $5 or $10 a month to enable 4g hotspot capability on my phone. Is there any difference between software that make the hotspot because I'm playing a FPS over wi-fi and sometimes I catch some crazy lag. I am using Samsung or MetroPCS version of hotspot software. Also now that I am rooted can I stop paying the $5 or $10 a month and still make a usable hotspot for my PS3 gaming?

Thanks so much for anyone willing to take the time to answer.
8th February 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #2  
aureljared's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quezon City
Thanks Meter: 459
 
703 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgh599n

Hi XDA Community. First I want to say thank you to all the devs, programmers, technical people, and anyone that helps out with XDA. It's a real treasure for Android users. I am a noob pretty much regarding Android however I pick up fast. Recently I rooted my phone and it just isnt what I expected, I guess I imagined my device turning into a super-cellphone or something. Anyway I've picked up some rooted apps (Tuners, Titanium, etc) however I really don't know enough about Android to go around playing. I have a few questions maybe someone would take the time to answer. Thanks.

1. I play a social game on my phone and it has a really clumsy way of switching between accounts. I'd like to have two instances of the game instead of one, where each instance launches a different account. Is this possible?

2. Is there any widget or button where I could manually switch my processor from underclock to maximum power without delving into a program? Also a switch between max screen brightness and minimum screen brightness would be nice.

3. How can I find out more about Android and various apps services and processes? I can't sort through them to disable them if I dont know what they are. I would like to delete any bloatware from my carrier. I favor a very lite load on my phone that conserves battery because all I really do is make calls, text, and play few games at this moment.

4. Last one ... I have to pay $5 or $10 a month to enable 4g hotspot capability on my phone. Is there any difference between software that make the hotspot because I'm playing a FPS over wi-fi and sometimes I catch some crazy lag. I am using Samsung or MetroPCS version of hotspot software. Also now that I am rooted can I stop paying the $5 or $10 a month and still make a usable hotspot for my PS3 gaming?

Thanks so much for anyone willing to take the time to answer.

I may not be entirely correct, however I am doind my best to help:

1. I think this is possible with Android 4.2.2 onwards with the Users feature, however I cannot confirm this because I am on 4.1.2.

2. I think Voltage Control will work for this. Find it in Play Store.

3. This can be done, but the process is really hit and miss. Generally you shouldn't touch any package that has "com." at the start of its name. Also all Google apps. For the rest, all you need is common sense.

4. T-Mobile, as far as I know, has disabled free tethering on Samsung devices recently. However, I have also heard that your tethering will still work if you tether to other Android devices. Use a user-agent switcher plugin for your PC browser to mask your PC as an Android device if you are tethering to PC. You can also try FoxFi.

Other devs or users, if you are reading this, please confirm if what I have said is true.

I hope I helped

Sent from my Galaxy Express using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to aureljared For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Thumbs up Thanks
Thanks for setting me in the right direction aureljared. I feel stupid because I don't see a thank button but I will keep looking for it. I am also on 4.1.2 so if anyone knows of a way to do #1 with my version of Android please let me know. OK, I will check out Voltage Control. My phone is terrible on battery. If I am doing something for like 10 minutes I will drain like 10% battery! About number 3, how can you tell if something is an ad or snooper process coming from installing another app? #4 Yes T-Mobile and MetroPCS have disabled free tethering and charge us now for it. They are basically the same service. And I will check out FoxFi. Thanks alot!!
The Following User Says Thank You to sgh599n For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Cool
Also, if anyone needs help rooting Samsung Galaxy Exhibit (SGH599N) I know how to do it. Post here and I will help you.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank