HTC M9 S-OFF In Less Than 24 Hours – No ETA On Release

HTC devices are no stranger to XDA’s Senior Recognized Developers … more

April Fools Round Up: The Year of Nostalgia

April Fools Day is once again upon us and as usual, tech companies everywhere have not … more

Android 5.1 OTA for Nexus Round-Up

The beginning of April is dominated by April Fools. There are jokes and pranks everywhere, which are … more

Official Lollipop for LG G2 Captured

LG is rolling out the Lollipop update for the LG G2. KDZ images for both 16 GB and 32 GB variants … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Installing Cyanogenmod - Why is a MicroSD needed ?

9th February 2014, 11:06 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I've purchased a Nook HD+ and plan to root and rom it straight away. I have a Galaxy Note 2 and putting a new rom on is fairly straight forward and usually involves putting the required files on the internal memory and booting into recovery. Just wondered why most of the tutorials for the Nook involve using a 4Gb+ microSD ?
9th February 2014, 11:57 PM |#2  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,768
 
8,638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mug2k

I've purchased a Nook HD+ and plan to root and rom it straight away. I have a Galaxy Note 2 and putting a new rom on is fairly straight forward and usually involves putting the required files on the internal memory and booting into recovery. Just wondered why most of the tutorials for the Nook involve using a 4Gb+ microSD ?

Because the Nook HD+ does not have a recovery that can be used to install new ROMs. The bootable CWM recovery SD is necessary to do that.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
10th February 2014, 12:03 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapinlar

Because the Nook HD+ does not have a recovery that can be used to install new ROMs. The bootable CWM SD is necessary to do that.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app

Ok thanks for that, if I get an microSD that is larger than 4GB is the rest of the space usable?. Lastly is it still the case that Class 4's work the best?

Sorry for all the questions
10th February 2014, 01:05 AM |#4  
leapinlar's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,768
 
8,638 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mug2k

Ok thanks for that, if I get an microSD that is larger than 4GB is the rest of the space usable?. Lastly is it still the case that Class 4's work the best?

Sorry for all the questions

If you use my new procedure from my HD/HD+ CWM thread linked in my signature (per item 1a), then you can use any size SD you want and it is all usable. But that being said, you want to use a relatively small SD (4-8GB) because you should save it for future CWM use and not use it for other things. You WILL need it again when things go wrong.

Yes, SanDisk class 4 work best.

Sent from my BN NookHD+ using XDA Premium HD app
12th February 2014, 12:56 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 173
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
on related note: after CWM use, how do i reclaim the microsd? Windows now thinks the card only has 4gb and reformatting it does not help. (If I'd known, i would have gotten a smaller capacity card).
12th February 2014, 12:59 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Weymouth
Thanks Meter: 248
 
1,294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Grab a program called sdformater not home don't have the link. Google will get it for you.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to jpisini For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes