Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Deleted home launcher

OP Learnerspermit

12th February 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I had rooted my T mobile LG G2 yesterday, loaded TWRP today - THOUGHT I had created a back up, then loaded Titanium (free-so no freeze).

Was cleaning up the bloatware and was doing fine, until (yes, I know I'm an idiot) I deleted "Home" and everything went black. Finally got back to TWRP and there is no saved ROM to restore and it gives the error message that it can't locate the storage.

So I can't recovery through TWRP, the adb doesn't recognize any device and I can't do a factory reset... anyone have any ideas of how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance and please don't revoke my learner's permit. :
12th February 2014, 09:19 AM   |  #2  
Audio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit

I had rooted my T mobile LG G2 yesterday, loaded TWRP today - THOUGHT I had created a back up, then loaded Titanium (free-so no freeze).

Was cleaning up the bloatware and was doing fine, until (yes, I know I'm an idiot) I deleted "Home" and everything went black. Finally got back to TWRP and there is no saved ROM to restore and it gives the error message that it can't locate the storage.

So I can't recovery through TWRP, the adb doesn't recognize any device and I can't do a factory reset... anyone have any ideas of how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance and please don't revoke my learner's permit. :

go to emergency mode and flash the stock rom
The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasheich

go to emergency mode and flash the stock rom

I googled LG G2 emergency mode 15 different ways and finally found "GRUB", but it says it not available anymore except FTP, which obviously I can't do.

Sorry for being the noob but could you be a little more detailed on this, as this is my first android root and consequentially my 1st destruction of my phone. I literally have 2 days experience gained from 'attempting' to understand the whole process.
12th February 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #4  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit

I googled LG G2 emergency mode 15 different ways and finally found "GRUB", but it says it not available anymore except FTP, which obviously I can't do.

Sorry for being the noob but could you be a little more detailed on this, as this is my first android root and consequentially my 1st destruction of my phone. I literally have 2 days experience gained from 'attempting' to understand the whole process.

go to this thread for the guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

and learn more about your device here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g2
The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
[QUOTE=nasheich;50262305]go to this thread for the guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Thanks again. I had already followed this thread, but when I entered download mode, a firmware update started. Stopped immediately at 0% and gave me a "rooted" in red letters at the bottom.

Then found this video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6SGWR0hGg4 and realized that I should proceed anyway. Got to the same point he did at 8:00 but when undid and reconnected the program continued. My just keep saying the phone wasn't connected by usb.
Last edited by Learnerspermit; 12th February 2014 at 04:32 PM. Reason: incorrect
12th February 2014, 05:03 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Turns out I didn't have the correct usb drivers on the computer... finally got it back up and running, so thanks for the input. Now I have to make sure that I back it up CORRECTLY this time on TWRP.
12th February 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #7  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit

Turns out I didn't have the correct usb drivers on the computer... finally got it back up and running, so thanks for the input. Now I have to make sure that I back it up CORRECTLY this time on TWRP.

great to know it
you're welcome
don't forget to hit THANKS buttons too

The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes