Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,482 Members 53,557 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Deleted home launcher

Tip us?
 
Learnerspermit
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Deleted home launcher

I had rooted my T mobile LG G2 yesterday, loaded TWRP today - THOUGHT I had created a back up, then loaded Titanium (free-so no freeze).

Was cleaning up the bloatware and was doing fine, until (yes, I know I'm an idiot) I deleted "Home" and everything went black. Finally got back to TWRP and there is no saved ROM to restore and it gives the error message that it can't locate the storage.

So I can't recovery through TWRP, the adb doesn't recognize any device and I can't do a factory reset... anyone have any ideas of how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance and please don't revoke my learner's permit. :
 
Nasheich Xfiles
Old
#2  
Nasheich Xfiles's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1726
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jakarta Utara

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit View Post
I had rooted my T mobile LG G2 yesterday, loaded TWRP today - THOUGHT I had created a back up, then loaded Titanium (free-so no freeze).

Was cleaning up the bloatware and was doing fine, until (yes, I know I'm an idiot) I deleted "Home" and everything went black. Finally got back to TWRP and there is no saved ROM to restore and it gives the error message that it can't locate the storage.

So I can't recovery through TWRP, the adb doesn't recognize any device and I can't do a factory reset... anyone have any ideas of how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance and please don't revoke my learner's permit. :
go to emergency mode and flash the stock rom

Indonesian Developer

From Indonesia, to peoples around the world..


My Contributions on XDA
Roms, Guides, Apps, etc

Connect to me...
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Github


The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Learnerspermit
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasheich View Post
go to emergency mode and flash the stock rom
I googled LG G2 emergency mode 15 different ways and finally found "GRUB", but it says it not available anymore except FTP, which obviously I can't do.

Sorry for being the noob but could you be a little more detailed on this, as this is my first android root and consequentially my 1st destruction of my phone. I literally have 2 days experience gained from 'attempting' to understand the whole process.
 
Nasheich Xfiles
Old
#4  
Nasheich Xfiles's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1726
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jakarta Utara

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit View Post
I googled LG G2 emergency mode 15 different ways and finally found "GRUB", but it says it not available anymore except FTP, which obviously I can't do.

Sorry for being the noob but could you be a little more detailed on this, as this is my first android root and consequentially my 1st destruction of my phone. I literally have 2 days experience gained from 'attempting' to understand the whole process.
go to this thread for the guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

and learn more about your device here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-g2

Indonesian Developer

From Indonesia, to peoples around the world..


My Contributions on XDA
Roms, Guides, Apps, etc

Connect to me...
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Github


The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Learnerspermit
Old
(Last edited by Learnerspermit; 12th February 2014 at 03:32 PM.) Reason: incorrect
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2014
[QUOTE=nasheich;50262305]go to this thread for the guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Thanks again. I had already followed this thread, but when I entered download mode, a firmware update started. Stopped immediately at 0% and gave me a "rooted" in red letters at the bottom.

Then found this video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6SGWR0hGg4 and realized that I should proceed anyway. Got to the same point he did at 8:00 but when undid and reconnected the program continued. My just keep saying the phone wasn't connected by usb.
 
Learnerspermit
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2014
Turns out I didn't have the correct usb drivers on the computer... finally got it back up and running, so thanks for the input. Now I have to make sure that I back it up CORRECTLY this time on TWRP.
 
Nasheich Xfiles
Old
#7  
Nasheich Xfiles's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1726
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Jakarta Utara

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Learnerspermit View Post
Turns out I didn't have the correct usb drivers on the computer... finally got it back up and running, so thanks for the input. Now I have to make sure that I back it up CORRECTLY this time on TWRP.
great to know it
you're welcome
don't forget to hit THANKS buttons too

Indonesian Developer

From Indonesia, to peoples around the world..


My Contributions on XDA
Roms, Guides, Apps, etc

Connect to me...
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Github



The Following User Says Thank You to Nasheich Xfiles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes