Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

To root or not LG E980

OP Deweywiii

11th February 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #11  
deadenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, CA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
probably a real noob question but I'm not real familiar with lg devices, what is efs exactly? does it effect gps in anyway? and can you restore efs on any rom?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles7

Xposed is working good for me. Not as much for the OGP as other devices. I think you will find enough for what you want, though.
Don't know about 10p.

---------- Post added at 08:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:41 AM ----------



FreeGee has an option to backup you EFS from within the app. Of course you can back it up in every way you would like. However, you will want to copy the freegee folder (or whatever backups you do) with that backup in it to your external SD or computer so it doesn't get wiped. The reality is, you most likely won't ever need that backup. It's a worse case scenario.

Just be careful when formatting partitions on the OGP. Only format system, cache, and data/media partitions, and doe the regular wipes and you'll be fine.

12th February 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #12  
Emmanuel2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
if you don't know what to use it for then don't. if you need it for a specific reason do it.
12th February 2014, 01:13 AM   |  #13  
deadenz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, CA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emmanuel2000

if you don't know what to use it for then don't. if you need it for a specific reason do it.

That was real helpful.. thanks

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 02:05 AM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadenz

That was real helpful.. thanks

Sent from my LG-E980 using Tapatalk

Don't understand why people do this. Seriously.
@deadenz that's the partition where your imei is stored.

If I'm not wrong in the Freegee thread you can read that EFS plays an important part on bypassing the bootloader.

Thus, having it backed up can play an important part in case Murphy pays you a visit.

Sent from my LG-E989 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to g0at1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #15  
Deweywiii's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Georgetown
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Okay so have roughly 15-16 hours of research and development on my part I have to wait to root my phone because after unbricking my soft brick from attempted OTA I learned that I simply flashed my phone to 10P not 10K. Stupid me. Flashing it wasn't hard it was just time consuming finding the TOT and what not. So I'll be monitoring the forums patiently waiting for the root of 10P while I attempt to create a root for 10P myself. Since I have acquired a G pro on 10P from a Co worker. WISH ME LUCK

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
12th February 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 157
 
508 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deweywiii

Okay so have roughly 15-16 hours of research and development on my part I have to wait to root my phone because after unbricking my soft brick from attempted OTA I learned that I simply flashed my phone to 10P not 10K. Stupid me. Flashing it wasn't hard it was just time consuming finding the TOT and what not. So I'll be monitoring the forums patiently waiting for the root of 10P while I attempt to create a root for 10P myself. Since I have acquired a G pro on 10P from a Co worker. WISH ME LUCK

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app

Using this method:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2660&nocache=1

...I was able to do mine in 30min or so (once I had all the big files downloaded!). I used the TOT linked in that thread.

Just don't try it in Win8. I could never get it to work on my Win8.1 laptop. I borrowed my wife's Win7 computer and it worked on the first shot with no fuss.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes