APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Custom ROM means sacrificing camera quality?

OP vpxf

11th February 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I recently rooted/s-offd my phone and immediately went for Cyanogenmod. I couldn't help but notice the camera quality is extremely horrid in comparison to the stock camera.

Is there a solution to this with use of Cyanogenmod, and or is this problem only linked to ROMs that aren't sensed base? I'm not incredibly big on using my camera but I utilize it enough to where I need the quality back.
11th February 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #2  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,235
 
5,213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Yep that pretty much is the case when you switch to aosp on an HTC phone. You could try focal from the play store. It looks better than cm in my opinion.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 07:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconnecktie

Yep that pretty much is the case when you switch to aosp on an HTC phone. You could try focal from the play store. It looks better than cm in my opinion.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

AFAIK Focal is designed by the makers of CM(or something like that). I'll check it out but last I knew it was extremely buggy.

Would going to a sense based ROM(eg viper) resolve the camera issue? I could always experience with nand backups but knowing off the bat would save me some time.
12th February 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #4  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,235
 
5,213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpxf

AFAIK Focal is designed by the makers of CM(or something like that). I'll check it out but last I knew it was extremely buggy.

Would going to a sense based ROM(eg viper) resolve the camera issue? I could always experience with nand backups but knowing off the bat would save me some time.

Yeah viper is a sense ROM so the sense cam still works. Focal was designed for use with cm but the creator pulled it from cm when they went corporate. The last time I used it it wasn't buggy at all but I don't really take pics that much.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to disconnecktie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconnecktie

Yeah viper is a sense ROM so the sense cam still works. Focal was designed for use with cm but the creator pulled it from cm when they went corporate. The last time I used it it wasn't buggy at all but I don't really take pics that much.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk

I just tried it out and it crashed within seconds of use haha. PicSphere is still buggy but that's no surprise. It definitely seems to be a good camera, just needs more work. Something I will have to keep an eye on.
12th February 2014, 08:24 PM   |  #6  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,235
 
5,213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpxf

I just tried it out and it crashed within seconds of use haha. PicSphere is still buggy but that's no surprise. It definitely seems to be a good camera, just needs more work. Something I will have to keep an eye on.

What ROM are you running that it crashes on? I installed it on the new liquid and it works fine.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes