FORUMS

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Custom ROM means sacrificing camera quality?

11th February 2014, 01:47 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
I recently rooted/s-offd my phone and immediately went for Cyanogenmod. I couldn't help but notice the camera quality is extremely horrid in comparison to the stock camera.

Is there a solution to this with use of Cyanogenmod, and or is this problem only linked to ROMs that aren't sensed base? I'm not incredibly big on using my camera but I utilize it enough to where I need the quality back.
 
 
11th February 2014, 10:04 PM |#2  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,317
 
More
Yep that pretty much is the case when you switch to aosp on an HTC phone. You could try focal from the play store. It looks better than cm in my opinion.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 06:42 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconnecktie

Yep that pretty much is the case when you switch to aosp on an HTC phone. You could try focal from the play store. It looks better than cm in my opinion.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

AFAIK Focal is designed by the makers of CM(or something like that). I'll check it out but last I knew it was extremely buggy.

Would going to a sense based ROM(eg viper) resolve the camera issue? I could always experience with nand backups but knowing off the bat would save me some time.
12th February 2014, 06:52 PM |#4  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,317
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpxf

AFAIK Focal is designed by the makers of CM(or something like that). I'll check it out but last I knew it was extremely buggy.

Would going to a sense based ROM(eg viper) resolve the camera issue? I could always experience with nand backups but knowing off the bat would save me some time.

Yeah viper is a sense ROM so the sense cam still works. Focal was designed for use with cm but the creator pulled it from cm when they went corporate. The last time I used it it wasn't buggy at all but I don't really take pics that much.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to disconnecktie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 07:03 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by disconnecktie

Yeah viper is a sense ROM so the sense cam still works. Focal was designed for use with cm but the creator pulled it from cm when they went corporate. The last time I used it it wasn't buggy at all but I don't really take pics that much.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk

I just tried it out and it crashed within seconds of use haha. PicSphere is still buggy but that's no surprise. It definitely seems to be a good camera, just needs more work. Something I will have to keep an eye on.
12th February 2014, 07:24 PM |#6  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,317
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpxf

I just tried it out and it crashed within seconds of use haha. PicSphere is still buggy but that's no surprise. It definitely seems to be a good camera, just needs more work. Something I will have to keep an eye on.

What ROM are you running that it crashes on? I installed it on the new liquid and it works fine.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes