Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,368 Members 44,535 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to change camera button app?

Tip us?
 
no_username_available
Old
#1  
no_username_available's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 312
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Question How to change camera button app?

Hi guys i just somehow side loaded the stock gallery and camera app to my XSP as some of you know i haven't been able to install apps from insufficient storage error so after playing around i managed to get it done via APK. Now when i use the camera button our XP has been blessed with it still opens the stock xperia camera app. is there anyway to change this? i do have a rooted phone
Thanks for putting up with my hail of noobish questions but it is appreciated. Cheers guys
 
Nanostray
Old
#2  
Nanostray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 632
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by no_username_available View Post
Hi guys i just somehow side loaded the stock gallery and camera app to my XSP as some of you know i haven't been able to install apps from insufficient storage error so after playing around i managed to get it done via APK. Now when i use the camera button our XP has been blessed with it still opens the stock xperia camera app. is there anyway to change this? i do have a rooted phone
Thanks for putting up with my hail of noobish questions but it is appreciated. Cheers guys
I don't think you can change the app the button opens when pressed
Devices:
Xperia Ray (587)
Electric Circuit Fried
UHD-ROM
Locked Bootloader
CWM-Recovery (Xparts)


Xperia SP (205)
Existenz Ultra 4.0.0
Locked Bootloader
3-way recoveries


Hit Thanks if I helped you
 
no_username_available
Old
#3  
no_username_available's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 312
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanostray View Post
I don't think you can change the app the button opens when pressed
thats a shame, but thanks anyway
 
mrjraider
Old
#4  
mrjraider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,108
Posts: 4,247
Join Date: Jul 2012
You can disable the Stock one and use the thirdparty one you have installed.
You can not open the camere with the camera button when you have multiple camera apps installed.
Atleast I cant.
My Device:
Phone: Sony Xperia SP
Model: C5303
Firmware: eXistenZ Ultra 4.0.0
Bootloaderstatus: Locked
Rootstatus: Enabled
SuperUserpatch: Installed


~ Be Nice To People ~
~ All My Threads! ~
 
no_username_available
Old
#5  
no_username_available's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 312
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjraider View Post
You can disable the Stock one and use the thirdparty one you have installed.
You can not open the camere with the camera button when you have multiple camera apps installed.
Atleast I cant.
so if i delete the stock one i can use the the one i downloaded? i can focus and take a pic with the camera app i downloaded but i can't open it with the button so will that fix it? or will i loose features like half press to focus and full to capture?
 
mrjraider
Old
#6  
mrjraider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,108
Posts: 4,247
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by no_username_available View Post
so if i delete the stock one i can use the the one i downloaded? i can focus and take a pic with the camera app i downloaded but i can't open it with the button so will that fix it? or will i loose features like half press to focus and full to capture?
Should do the trick yes but I recommend disabling before uninstalling. You never know what happens
My Device:
Phone: Sony Xperia SP
Model: C5303
Firmware: eXistenZ Ultra 4.0.0
Bootloaderstatus: Locked
Rootstatus: Enabled
SuperUserpatch: Installed


~ Be Nice To People ~
~ All My Threads! ~
 
no_username_available
Old
(Last edited by no_username_available; 12th February 2014 at 08:42 PM.)
#7  
no_username_available's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 312
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjraider View Post
Should do the trick yes but I recommend disabling before uninstalling. You never know what happens
true that, i will try and let you know
edit: nope it docent work to stop the app i will try to un install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more