CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more

Nexus Player 5.1 LMY47D Rooted

We recently featured the Nexus Player, Google’s second attempt at a digital media … more

Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Issues with chrome browser

10th February 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
i have the latest chrome version with the cast extension.
casting from my android device works.
but when i try to cast from chrome extension (i see the device) i get an error:
"The selected device is no longer online.
Please select a different device."

thanks
10th February 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #2  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

i have the latest chrome version with the cast extension.
casting from my android device works.
but when i try to cast from chrome extension (i see the device) i get an error:
"The selected device is no longer online.
Please select a different device."

What router do you have?
Also verify that your Network Location is set to Home or Work and not Public or Unidentified.
11th February 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

What router do you have?
Also verify that your Network Location is set to Home or Work and not Public or Unidentified.

linksys wrt54gl
my network location is private.
by the way sometimes i see the chromecast but get that error and sometimes i cant detect my chromecast(from chrome browser)
11th February 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

linksys wrt54gl
my network location is private.
by the way sometimes i see the chromecast but get that error and sometimes i cant detect my chromecast(from chrome browser)

If you look at Chromecast, do you see the LED blinking white sometimes?
If so, that means it has lost connection to your router. Try the HDMI extender cable or reposition Chromecast and/or router so it has better signal strength.
12th February 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

If you look at Chromecast, do you see the LED blinking white sometimes?
If so, that means it has lost connection to your router. Try the HDMI extender cable or reposition Chromecast and/or router so it has better signal strength.

the LED aren't blinking. and i moved the router around. that didn't help.
i had virtual box but i uninstalled it. maybe it has something to do with this?
12th February 2014, 09:07 PM   |  #6  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 928
 
2,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

the LED aren't blinking. and i moved the router around. that didn't help.
i had virtual box but i uninstalled it. maybe it has something to do with this?

It's possible that there are some leftovers remaining from Virtualbox's network filters and virtual adapter.

Some third-party antivirus "suites" install a firewall component that can block traffic that it seems suspicious too.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes