Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Issues with chrome browser

OP yoavfu

10th February 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
i have the latest chrome version with the cast extension.
casting from my android device works.
but when i try to cast from chrome extension (i see the device) i get an error:
"The selected device is no longer online.
Please select a different device."

thanks
10th February 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #2  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

i have the latest chrome version with the cast extension.
casting from my android device works.
but when i try to cast from chrome extension (i see the device) i get an error:
"The selected device is no longer online.
Please select a different device."

What router do you have?
Also verify that your Network Location is set to Home or Work and not Public or Unidentified.
11th February 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

What router do you have?
Also verify that your Network Location is set to Home or Work and not Public or Unidentified.

linksys wrt54gl
my network location is private.
by the way sometimes i see the chromecast but get that error and sometimes i cant detect my chromecast(from chrome browser)
11th February 2014, 11:28 PM   |  #4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

linksys wrt54gl
my network location is private.
by the way sometimes i see the chromecast but get that error and sometimes i cant detect my chromecast(from chrome browser)

If you look at Chromecast, do you see the LED blinking white sometimes?
If so, that means it has lost connection to your router. Try the HDMI extender cable or reposition Chromecast and/or router so it has better signal strength.
12th February 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

If you look at Chromecast, do you see the LED blinking white sometimes?
If so, that means it has lost connection to your router. Try the HDMI extender cable or reposition Chromecast and/or router so it has better signal strength.

the LED aren't blinking. and i moved the router around. that didn't help.
i had virtual box but i uninstalled it. maybe it has something to do with this?
12th February 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #6  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoavfu

the LED aren't blinking. and i moved the router around. that didn't help.
i had virtual box but i uninstalled it. maybe it has something to do with this?

It's possible that there are some leftovers remaining from Virtualbox's network filters and virtual adapter.

Some third-party antivirus "suites" install a firewall component that can block traffic that it seems suspicious too.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes