FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[Q] Samsung Galaxy S3 AT&T Possible Soft Brick?

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Resistance225, Junior Member on 10th February 2014, 11:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So, i decide to root my s3 because i wanted to do some cool stuff. I got odin, got the tar file and tried flashing it. For some reason it didn't work On odin it gave me a fail. I was in download mode too. So, when i turn on my s3 it is in odin mode but it says "firmware upgrade encountered an issue. Please select recovery mode in Kies & try again." i did this in kies and when it was at like 99% it gives me an error.
so i tried flashing again in odin still fail, but i get on my s3 SV REV CHECK FAIL: Fused 2 > Binary 0. I have no clue what that means, So, i just want my phone to get working again i dont care about rooting anymore. JUST HELP ME FIX IT!!!!



BTW: I di root my Kindle Fire a while back so i thought I would have experience with this (i kind of do) but i guess I thought wrong.
 
 
11th February 2014, 03:26 AM |#2  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,112
 
More
Was your phone running a stock 4.3 AT&T ROM? What method did you use to try and root the phone?
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 08:23 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Was your phone running a stock 4.3 AT&T ROM? What method did you use to try and root the phone?

i think so and i tired using odin and i put the phone in download mode so i could flash the .tar file
11th February 2014, 10:26 PM |#4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Resistance225

i think so and i tired using odin and i put the phone in download mode so i could flash the .tar file

Since your phone was running a stock 4.3 ROM, you can't use Odin to install a stock AT&T 4.3 ROM because it doesn't exist. There are leaked ROMs around that you could try flashing.

Alternatively, you could install a custom recovery and install a custom 4.4.2 ROM.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2014, 10:55 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Since your phone was running a stock 4.3 ROM, you can't use Odin to install a stock AT&T 4.3 ROM because it doesn't exist. There are leaked ROMs around that you could try flashing.

Alternatively, you could install a custom recovery and install a custom 4.4.2 ROM.

I will try to do this! Thanks for helping me though, i will keep you updated.
12th February 2014, 09:20 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Since your phone was running a stock 4.3 ROM, you can't use Odin to install a stock AT&T 4.3 ROM because it doesn't exist. There are leaked ROMs around that you could try flashing.

Alternatively, you could install a custom recovery and install a custom 4.4.2 ROM.


I installed a recovery and guess what, it started working again! All my data was still there too! Thanks i really appreciate you taking the time to help me! I also was able to succsessfully root it by using the CF auto root .tar file. Once again, thanks a ton!
12th February 2014, 09:53 PM |#7  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,112
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Resistance225

I installed a recovery and guess what, it started working again! All my data was still there too! Thanks i really appreciate you taking the time to help me! I also was able to succsessfully root it by using the CF auto root .tar file. Once again, thanks a ton!

Glad you got it working. We're all here to help.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes