Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,879 Members 50,129 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Where to get Sim unlock for cheap

Tip us?
 
blu422
Old
#11  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#12  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 2,283
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
 
blu422
Old
#13  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
I believe so
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#14  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 2,283
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
I believe so
Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
 
blu422
Old
#15  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
well yeah
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#16  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 2,283
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
well yeah
I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
 
blu422
Old
#17  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#18  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 2,283
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
 
blu422
Old
#19  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
nope i just thought it might be possible
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#20  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 2,283
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
nope i just thought it might be possible
In another thread, an XDA member had a stock 4.1.1 ROM (modem too) running on a 4.3 bootloader and the required menu options for unlocking the phone were not present which leads me to conclude that you need to be completely stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more