Post Reply

Where to get Sim unlock for cheap

OP littlegreenalien

4th February 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #11  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
5th February 2014, 12:50 AM   |  #12  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 624
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?

Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
5th February 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #13  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?

I believe so
5th February 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #14  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 624
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

I believe so

Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
5th February 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #15  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.

well yeah
5th February 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #16  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 624
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

well yeah

I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
5th February 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #17  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.

indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
5th February 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #18  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 624
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.

Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
12th February 2014, 05:05 AM   |  #19  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
336 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.

nope i just thought it might be possible
12th February 2014, 10:10 PM   |  #20  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 624
 
2,743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

nope i just thought it might be possible

In another thread, an XDA member had a stock 4.1.1 ROM (modem too) running on a 4.3 bootloader and the required menu options for unlocking the phone were not present which leads me to conclude that you need to be completely stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes