Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,572 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Where to get Sim unlock for cheap

Tip us?
 
blu422
Old
#11  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#12  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 422
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
 
blu422
Old
#13  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
I believe so
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#14  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 422
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
I believe so
Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
 
blu422
Old
#15  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
well yeah
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#16  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 422
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
well yeah
I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
 
blu422
Old
#17  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#18  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 422
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
 
blu422
Old
#19  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bountiful, UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
nope i just thought it might be possible
__________________________________________________ ____________________________________

Any spare time? Check this out.
 
audit13
Old
#20  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 422
Posts: 2,362
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422 View Post
nope i just thought it might be possible
In another thread, an XDA member had a stock 4.1.1 ROM (modem too) running on a 4.3 bootloader and the required menu options for unlocking the phone were not present which leads me to conclude that you need to be completely stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more