TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Where to get Sim unlock for cheap

OP littlegreenalien

4th February 2014, 11:33 PM   |  #11  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?
5th February 2014, 01:50 AM   |  #12  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

I know the bootloader is locked in 4.3 but is the modem? maybe you could downgrade to the 4.1.1 modem and then unlock and reflash your 4.3?

Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?
5th February 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #13  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Is it the modem that gives access to the unlock options?

I believe so
5th February 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #14  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

I believe so

Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.
5th February 2014, 03:37 AM   |  #15  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Even on a 4.3 ROM? That would be awesome.

well yeah
5th February 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #16  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

well yeah

I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.
5th February 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #17  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

I didn't know this. I saw several posts from XDA members that were on 4.3 and wanted to unlock their phone for free. If they can just flash the modem, unlock, and reflash the modem, that would be pretty simple.

indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.
5th February 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #18  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

indeed we just need a brave user to try it risking his phone's life. or someone more knowledgeable than me that already knows the answer.

Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.
12th February 2014, 06:05 AM   |  #19  
blu422's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bountiful, UT
Thanks Meter: 49
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Do you know anyone that has actually gone through the process of unlocking by installing the 4.1.1 modem?

I saw a post about someone doing this with a 4.1.2 rom but not a 4.3 ROM.

nope i just thought it might be possible
12th February 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #20  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,013
 
3,159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blu422

nope i just thought it might be possible

In another thread, an XDA member had a stock 4.1.1 ROM (modem too) running on a 4.3 bootloader and the required menu options for unlocking the phone were not present which leads me to conclude that you need to be completely stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes