Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

firmware

Tip us?
 
fuzzylax
Old
#1  
fuzzylax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 158
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: lacrosse, Wisconsin
Default firmware

so i finally decide today to try and update firmware so I can run kk,so this is what i am doing.using adb I type fastboot oem reboot RUU which says it was ok then htc screen pops up.then I dl the newest firmware and with out unzipping I drop into my adb file then I type fastboot flash zip firmware.zip{i did rename file when i put into adb] then adb says it couldnt load file.Ive tried unzipping it and still coming up with eras.So im not sure what i am doing wrong
 
brymaster5000
Old
#2  
brymaster5000's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1364
Posts: 1,702
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Send it twice as per santod's instructions. Hopefully that's just your case.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Like my work? Consider donating to my new phone fund...


Devices:
HTC One vzw
Incredible 2 = retired
Nook Color

Android-Edge
The Following User Says Thank You to brymaster5000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BD619
Old
#3  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7582
Posts: 7,987
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Xda-Dev,NV

 
DONATE TO ME
Could also be if you renamed it firmware.zip windows hides extensions so it could actually be named firmware.zip.zip

Frequently Asked Questions - HTC One-M7-Sprint(m7wls) | HTC Evo 4G LTE(Jewel) | HTC One-M8-Sprint(m8_whl)
ROM Cleaner | AROMA | Remove Bloatware | Backup Apps | Install Apps/Mods
ROM Cleaner for HTC Evo 4G LTE or ROM Cleaner for HTC One
My DIY guides on how to root your HTC Evo 4G LTE | HTC One(M7)-Sprint | HTC One(M8)-Sprint


Forum Moderator
The Following User Says Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
disconnecktie
Old
#4  
disconnecktie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1102
Posts: 4,794
Join Date: Oct 2011
Don't unzip it and if you did. Go ahead and delete the unzipped one because you broke it. Download the zip again and then run the commands again. This time make sure not to unzip it and if you need to remove the boot.img simply open the archive and delete it that way. Do not unzip it.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to disconnecktie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
santod040
Old
(Last edited by santod040; 12th February 2014 at 05:55 PM.)
#5  
santod040's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 7291
Posts: 5,645
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NorCal

 
DONATE TO ME
I actually updated the second post in my thread with a firmware zip minus the boot.IMG a day or two ago.
Try that if you need one without it.

What are the errors?
Make sure USB debugging is enabled in developer options in settings.
Sent from my One using Tapatalk
Current Devices: HTC Thunderbolt | HTC Droid DNA | HTC One | HTC One (2014)


Follow me on Twitter
ULTIMATE WALLS WVGA Wallpaper Collection
Donations always appreciated! Never required!


The Following User Says Thank You to santod040 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fuzzylax
Old
#6  
fuzzylax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 158
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: lacrosse, Wisconsin
I will give your guys suggestions when I get back home..thanks guys for the info.I must say the HTC forum on xda you guys are very respect full and quick to respond compared to other people on this site for different phones
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fuzzylax For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fuzzylax
Old
#7  
fuzzylax's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 158
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: lacrosse, Wisconsin
so the problem for me was that i was renaming the firmware.zip which i should have just saved it to just firmware just like bd619 said.Thanks again

The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzylax For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes