Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,291 Members 46,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Attempting to Unroot to Update to ZVC

Tip us?
 
Madolinn
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Attempting to Unroot to Update to ZVC

Today I was pretty much fed up with the constant amount of messages being stuck in "sending...." and even the ones that after half a second "failed to send", so I decided I'd try and update my phone again.

Stock rom, Fiddy619 rooted.

So I go into magical SuperSU and click the Full Unroot button. Success. Reboot phone. Check for software update, oh poor dead Android guy. 1 minute later, phone reboots, back to square 1 with "partial" root and no SuperSU.

Okay, so I rerun Fiddy619. Success. Go to apps. No SuperSU. So I push it on over from my computer, install. SuperSU boots up. "A new Binary is -" SuperSU has stopped. Open it up, SuperSU has stopped. SuperSU has stopped. SuperSU has stopped. Okay. So I get it open, hurry up and update. Success. No more annoying messages.

Well lets check out Adfree.. Thinking.. SuperSU has stopped. Well that's great. So now SuperSU is broken but I'm still rooted.

All I wanted to do was unroot, update. Nothing more. So where should I go about from here? SuperSU is broken and Freegee doesn't load, just resets my phone after hanging it for a minute.
 
engine95
Old
#2  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,038
Posts: 1,808
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madolinn View Post
Today I was pretty much fed up with the constant amount of messages being stuck in "sending...." and even the ones that after half a second "failed to send", so I decided I'd try and update my phone again.

Stock rom, Fiddy619 rooted.

So I go into magical SuperSU and click the Full Unroot button. Success. Reboot phone. Check for software update, oh poor dead Android guy. 1 minute later, phone reboots, back to square 1 with "partial" root and no SuperSU.

Okay, so I rerun Fiddy619. Success. Go to apps. No SuperSU. So I push it on over from my computer, install. SuperSU boots up. "A new Binary is -" SuperSU has stopped. Open it up, SuperSU has stopped. SuperSU has stopped. SuperSU has stopped. Okay. So I get it open, hurry up and update. Success. No more annoying messages.

Well lets check out Adfree.. Thinking.. SuperSU has stopped. Well that's great. So now SuperSU is broken but I'm still rooted.

All I wanted to do was unroot, update. Nothing more. So where should I go about from here? SuperSU is broken and Freegee doesn't load, just resets my phone after hanging it for a minute.
You don't have to unroot. Just take thre update. There's a guide here if you need it. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2050582

Sent from my LG-LS970 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
Madolinn
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
After installing Freegee I never got it to properly load. It would just crash, so I had assumed it wasn't working properly.

As of right now it seems like I'm stuck unrooted, but I still can't take the OTA update. Whenever an app would normally ask for SuperSU permission, it crashes, and the app hangs. Opening Freegee just resets my phone.

The thread doesn't really help because I did follow those directions, but I don't have a custom loader or recovery. It's pure stock+root (now in limbo of rooted).
 
engine95
Old
#4  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,038
Posts: 1,808
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madolinn View Post
After installing Freegee I never got it to properly load. It would just crash, so I had assumed it wasn't working properly.

As of right now it seems like I'm stuck unrooted, but I still can't take the OTA update. Whenever an app would normally ask for SuperSU permission, it crashes, and the app hangs. Opening Freegee just resets my phone.

The thread doesn't really help because I did follow those directions, but I don't have a custom loader or recovery. It's pure stock+root (now in limbo of rooted).
What recovery do you have? Stock? Or when you installed FreeGee did you load TWRP or CWM?

Sent from my LG-LS970 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
Madolinn
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
My recovery is stock. When I installed Freegee it never even loaded for me to be able to install TWRP, it just simply crashed right away..
 
engine95
Old
#6  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,038
Posts: 1,808
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madolinn View Post
My recovery is stock. When I installed Freegee it never even loaded for me to be able to install TWRP, it just simply crashed right away..
OK. So have you removed any apps when you were rooted?
Also, theres a link to Framaroot in that guide. Try it if you haven't already. Right now we just have to get root so you can install FreeGee and a recovery so you can just flash a stock Rom.
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
Madolinn
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
No I did not remove any of the bloatware or system apps when I was rooted.

Framaroot worked, installed Superuser and now my Root Browser functions so yes, it is now recognizing that it's rooted.

I'll now reinstall FreeGee and see what comes of it.
 
engine95
Old
#8  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,038
Posts: 1,808
Join Date: Oct 2008
If your data connection is iffy, use WiFi to install FreeGee. It really does help.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!
 
Madolinn
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
FreeGee has been installed and has booted up properly.
Installed TWRP.
Rebooted.

Checked for Software update, says my system is up to date. Software information still says I'm at ZVB, however.
 
engine95
Old
#10  
engine95's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,038
Posts: 1,808
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madolinn View Post
FreeGee has been installed and has booted up properly.
Installed TWRP.
Rebooted.

Checked for Software update, says my system is up to date. Software information still says I'm at ZVB, however.
Save yourself the hassle. Flash this in TWRP. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2536636 Its stock zvc.
You probably don't need the radio zip. But it won't hurt either. Go to the teeny bin thread in Development and get the zvc radio. It seems to be the same as zvb though.

Sent from my LG-LS970 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thanks to HPTesla and PartimusPrime!!! Whoohoo!!

The Following User Says Thank You to engine95 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Get Your Tasks Organized on Android Wear with Agenda Wear

Having a checklist of things you need to do is something we all can find useful at … more

Top 5 LG G3 MODs – XDA Developer TV

The LG G3 has been LG’s breakout hit of the summer. Using their knowledge frombuilding some … more

Make Your Calendar Widget Beautiful with Month

For some of us, summer vacation is alreadyover. For those getting ready to school, work, or … more

Integrate Social Networks Into Your Project With ASNE Library

Social network applications and services have developed into major parts ofour … more