ADB and Fast Boot Coming to Chrome OS

Good news, devs! An update to an older bug report on a related ADB issue shows that thetwo key features … more

SpaceX ROM For Galaxy S5

The S5 Lollipop ROM scene is slowly growing, and now we’ve got a good new offering in the form of SpaceX ROM. … more

The Androids Are Marching On The UK

XDA has always been about the community, and as such we are constantly on the lookout for ways to bring … more

One M8 Lollipop, Blackberry CEO Net Neutrality – XDA TV

The HTC One M8 has gotten its first Android 5.0 Lollipop based Sense 6 ROM! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problem applying OTA update after rooting

OP euler.ramanujan

13th February 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I am cureently on .532(downgraded to root and backup TA). The thing is I can't apply the OTA. I also tried to temporary unroot the device. I also didn't mess up with any of the system files. The only thing I did after flashing .532 was rooting. Although the update via pc works fine but I want to keep the root.

Thanks
13th February 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #2  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,611
 
3,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by euler.ramanujan

I am cureently on .532(downgraded to root and backup TA). The thing is I can't apply the OTA. I also tried to temporary unroot the device. I also didn't mess up with any of the system files. The only thing I did after flashing .532 was rooting. Although the update via pc works fine but I want to keep the root.

Thanks

READ THE STICKIES

that said... now that you have backed up the TA the best thing to do is unlock the bootloader, then upgrade to .290 or .136 and flash recovery/kernel and re-root from recovery by flashing SuperSu
13th February 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #3  
mathurmatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delhi
Thanks Meter: 67
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by euler.ramanujan

I am cureently on .532(downgraded to root and backup TA). The thing is I can't apply the OTA. I also tried to temporary unroot the device. I also didn't mess up with any of the system files. The only thing I did after flashing .532 was rooting. Although the update via pc works fine but I want to keep the root.

Thanks

Is your bootloader unlocked if it is you have to lock it to apply ota the ota will download fine but you can't apply it unless you are on locked bootloader and if you are on locked bootloader you have to download root keeper app backup root reflash the .532 ftf or .290 whatever version you like the ota will apply just fine the download the app again and restore root.................
The Following User Says Thank You to mathurmatt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueether

READ THE STICKIES

that said... now that you have backed up the TA the best thing to do is unlock the bootloader, then upgrade to .290 or .136 and flash recovery/kernel and re-root from recovery by flashing SuperSu

I did flash .290 and tried to root it after unlocking the bootloaded but I got stuck in bootloop. So, I went backup to the other .540 again to root it for meantime.
14th February 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathurmatt

Is your bootloader unlocked if it is you have to lock it to apply ota the ota will download fine but you can't apply it unless you are on locked bootloader and if you are on locked bootloader you have to download root keeper app backup root reflash the .532 ftf or .290 whatever version you like the ota will apply just fine the download the app again and restore root.................

My Bootloader is locked, and I did try to update exactly like what you said but it didn't work
14th February 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #6  
blueether's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Thanks Meter: 1,611
 
3,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by euler.ramanujan

My Bootloader is locked, and I did try to update exactly like what you said but it didn't work

To get root on .290 with a locked bootloader follow this guide once you have .532 rooted:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2612980

Then follow this guide to update to .136 (the latest FW):
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2631768
The Following User Says Thank You to blueether For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes