Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 39,275 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No satellite fix on any kitkat rom. Why?

Tip us?
 
android404
Old
#1  
android404's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 466
Posts: 745
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oslo
Sign No satellite fix on any kitkat rom. Why?

I tried "every" custom kitkat rom and I never got a satellite fix. It works fine on stock and stock based jelly bean roms. I know that some others have the same issue. I'm on an 802. If you had the same issue and actually solved it please let me know. If you still have the issue, let's find out what we've got in common to find a solution.
sent from naked browser
 
Dirtyzecret
Old
#2  
Dirtyzecret's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 143
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by android404 View Post
I tried "every" custom kitkat rom and I never got a satellite fix. It works fine on stock and stock based jelly bean roms. I know that some others have the same issue. I'm on an 802. If you had the same issue and actually solved it please let me know. If you still have the issue, let's find out what we've got in common to find a solution.
Have you tried resetting the gps A-Data? There is a couple of apps in playstore witch can do this!

Do you have Tele"hor" or Netcom?
 
android404
Old
#3  
android404's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 466
Posts: 745
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyzecret View Post
Have you tried resetting the gps A-Data? There is a couple of apps in playstore witch can do this!

Do you have Tele"hor" or Netcom?
Yes, I have. And my carrier shouldn't play a role when it comes to getting a satellite fix. Takk uansett.
sent from naked browser
 
darkobas
Old
#4  
darkobas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 567
Posts: 1,300
Join Date: Jan 2011
First time it can take several minutes, just be patient and on an open location

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
 
android404
Old
#5  
android404's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 466
Posts: 745
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkobas View Post
First time it can take several minutes, just be patient and on an open location

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk
I see dozens of satellites immediately but they never lock. Not after waiting for hours unfortunately.
sent from naked browser
 
koftheworld
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 206
Posts: 780
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central NJ
You need to do a nandroid, wipe and install a stock based rom, get a gps lock, and then wipe and restore your backup. That's what I ended up doing (also installed the gps fix zip under stock because I still wasn't getting a lock), and it seems to still be working a few days later.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to koftheworld For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
flyinj54
Old
#7  
flyinj54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 364
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio
I had to do the same steps. Worked for me as well.
 
android404
Old
#8  
android404's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 466
Posts: 745
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oslo
I waited half a year with starting this thread, hours later, @vertigo uploads a build of omni rom which has the issue fixed. Hooray!
sent from naked browser

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more