Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Brother's Inspire 4g won't get past white HTC Screen

OP Scozzar

9th February 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
YES, to answer your question, I have used the search function, but seeing how things like this happen with people being irresponsible by flashing incompatible RUU's, I must ask differently.


So I had installed Taktik on my brother's Inspire 4G. He was running it without an issue since Taktiks Release 1 had been released, but this morning he called me to inform me that his phone won't get past the white HTC screen. He told me he turned the phone off and put it on the charger overnight like he usually does. When he went to turn it on the morning it would just hang at the white HTC screen and vibrate exactly 7 times before rebooting. He can get into bootloader, but he can't get into recovery because it will just hang at the white HTC screen there too. I was reading that this is more than likely a "corrupt bootloader" and I was wondering if it's salvageable.

The bootloader details are as follows:

UNLOCKED
ACE PVT SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-2.00.0030
MICROP-0438
RADIO-26.17.14.11_M
eMMC-boot
Feb 20 2012, 16:03:18

I know it's an old phone (I am literally begging him to dump this phone for a while now) but he still wants it. How can I save this?
Last edited by Scozzar; 9th February 2014 at 11:56 PM.
9th February 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #2  
JJeamy's Avatar
Senior Member
http://forum.xda-developers.com/usercp.php
Thanks Meter: 138
 
385 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
what about if you try to installing a custom recovery (a different custom recovery) through fastboot..?, "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

if after installing a custom recovery...the recovery still can't accessed..
then maybe you must try to return your phone to the stock first with flashing a stock RUU..but don't forget to relocked your bootloader first "fastboot oem lock" before flashing a stock RUU..

hope this help..
Last edited by JJeamy; 9th February 2014 at 10:34 PM.
9th February 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJeamy

what about if you try to installing a custom recovery (a different custom recovery) through fastboot..?, "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

if after installing a custom recovery...the recovery still can't accessed..
then maybe you must try to return your phone to the stock first with flashing a stock RUU..but don't forget to relocked your bootloader first "fastboot oem lock" before flashing a stock RUU..

hope this help..

I mean, he had ext4 recovery forever. Don't know why attempting to flash a new recovery would help, but I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the prompt response
10th February 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #4  
glevitan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 1,215
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scozzar

I mean, he had ext4 recovery forever. Don't know why attempting to flash a new recovery would help, but I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the prompt response

If you still have access to the custom recovery, then try reflashing the rom with a clean flash. If that does not work, then relock the bootloader and then flash a RUU in fastboot.

If after flash successfully a rom the phone does not boot, then it seems that the mobo might be flaw.
10th February 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by glevitan

If you still have access to the custom recovery, then try reflashing the rom with a clean flash. If that does not work, then relock the bootloader and then flash a RUU in fastboot.

If after flash successfully a rom the phone does not boot, then it seems that the mobo might be flaw.

I wish I could say we could get into the recovery. I'm currently away at school so I'm basically telling you what my brother is telling me. He said he is unable to get into recovery. He can get into bootloader, but whenever he clicks on recovery, it just goes to the white HTC screen and vibrates 7 times, shuts off, then reboots
10th February 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #6  
glevitan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Buenos Aires
Thanks Meter: 1,215
 
3,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scozzar

I wish I could say we could get into the recovery. I'm currently away at school so I'm basically telling you what my brother is telling me. He said he is unable to get into recovery. He can get into bootloader, but whenever he clicks on recovery, it just goes to the white HTC screen and vibrates 7 times, shuts off, then reboots

umm....the vibrating and the rebooting sounds like a burned mobo to me....sorry about that.
10th February 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 341
 
1,145 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by glevitan

umm....the vibrating and the rebooting sounds like a burned mobo to me....sorry about that.

Hmmm bummer, but I'm not surprised. He got the phone in 2011 and the phone is still in surprisingly good condition. We've been telling him to get a new one forever, but 200 is a lot to spend on a phone (He's wants the HTC One). I'll break the news to him. Thankfully the sd card can be removed :P
13th February 2014, 02:50 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Sounds stupid, but I would try another battery just in case like last resort.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes