Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck in bootloop, nothing seems to be working

OP ggoodman1022

23rd January 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #11  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

This can be done on a Mac or Linux box as well, ADB is available for both, just substitute the appropriate filenames or commands for each OS.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Sweet!! I'll look into it after I finish my homework
12th February 2014, 05:36 AM   |  #12  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

You can follow the instructions at htcdev.com if you haven't yet unlocked your bootloader. After following the instructions they provide for you, you can download http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1902381 and write it to the recovery partition via fastboot command. To finally flash it, make sure you're in the bootloader and you see "FASTBOOT USB". Hold the shift key and right-click, and click "Open command window here". Now place TWRP in the folder used to push the Unlock_code.bin (Contains fastboot.exe and is usually located at C:\Android or C\:fastboot) and type "fastboot flash recovery (name of recovery file).img. If you want, I can elaborate further.

So I finally got around to doing this, after buying a replacement phone off a guy on Craigslist, but I would still like to try and get this phone back up and running... I downloaded all the files and installed adb, etc. When I try to run the command, "fastboot flash recovery TWRP_2.6.3.0_Vigor_PH98IMG.zip" I get the following in the terminal:

sending 'recovery' (6323 KB)...
OKAY [ 1.464s]
writing 'recovery'...
FAILED (remote: image error! (BootMagic check fail))
finished. total time: 1.780s

Any other ideas??
12th February 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #13  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 595
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggoodman1022

So I finally got around to doing this, after buying a replacement phone off a guy on Craigslist, but I would still like to try and get this phone back up and running... I downloaded all the files and installed adb, etc. When I try to run the command, "fastboot flash recovery TWRP_2.6.3.0_Vigor_PH98IMG.zip" I get the following in the terminal:

sending 'recovery' (6323 KB)...
OKAY [ 1.464s]
writing 'recovery'...
FAILED (remote: image error! (BootMagic check fail))
finished. total time: 1.780s

Any other ideas??

You don't flash the zip, extract the file and flash the recovery.img file.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to acejavelin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #14  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

You don't flash the zip, extract the file and flash the recovery.img file.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

got it. thanks! it said the recovery was successful, but it still gets stuck in the bootloop

It may be time to admit what I feared from the moment it hit the water...
12th February 2014, 06:23 PM   |  #15  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 595
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggoodman1022

got it. thanks! it said the recovery was successful, but it still gets stuck in the bootloop

It may be time to admit what I feared from the moment it hit the water...

Wipe, flash a ROM, and manually flash boot image... Other than that, could be toast.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 06:48 PM   |  #16  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

Wipe, flash a ROM, and manually flash boot image... Other than that, could be toast.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Can it be a stock ROM, or would it have to be something like CyanogenMod?
12th February 2014, 07:18 PM   |  #17  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 595
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggoodman1022

Can it be a stock ROM, or would it have to be something like CyanogenMod?

I think its irrelevant at this point... Personally, I would use EclipticRez v9 or Tachyon as they are both rock solid ROMs. EclipticRez includes an Aroma installer script, so it might be a little easier (select S-ON and Lunar kernel).

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
12th February 2014, 10:03 PM   |  #18  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

I think its irrelevant at this point... Personally, I would use EclipticRez v9 or Tachyon as they are both rock solid ROMs. EclipticRez includes an Aroma installer script, so it might be a little easier (select S-ON and Lunar kernel).

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

I actually found this thread earlier - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632629 and followed the instructions, it was giving me some trouble around step 10 and kept going back into the bootloop. Then I tried it for probably the 5th time and it finally worked!! So the phone is back to full function now. I've been out of the house for a few hours, but it worked before your last reply literally right before I walked out the door.

Thank you SOOOO SOOOO SOOOOO much for the advice both on this thread and on that one I mentioned above (since it was also your instructions there)
The Following User Says Thank You to ggoodman1022 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #19  
acejavelin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bismarck, ND
Thanks Meter: 595
 
1,907 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggoodman1022

I actually found this thread earlier - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632629 and followed the instructions, it was giving me some trouble around step 10 and kept going back into the bootloop. Then I tried it for probably the 5th time and it finally worked!! So the phone is back to full function now. I've been out of the house for a few hours, but it worked before your last reply literally right before I walked out the door.

Thank you SOOOO SOOOO SOOOOO much for the advice both on this thread and on that one I mentioned above (since it was also your instructions there)

No prob... glad you got it working. Water damage is weird, hopefully it sticks!
13th February 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #20  
ggoodman1022's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tempe, AZ
Thanks Meter: 4
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejavelin

No prob... glad you got it working. Water damage is weird, hopefully it sticks!

The [semi] good news is that I found one on Craigslist (same phone because I really like it) for just $60 a couple days after I got fed up with using the OG Incredible. And the guy had 2 extra batteries, a case, and ghost armor on the screen as well. So now I have the original Rezound and the spare.

The Following User Says Thank You to ggoodman1022 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes