5,600,292 Members 36,299 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to update recovery

Tip us?
 
krisando
Old
(Last edited by krisando; 3rd February 2014 at 11:46 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 88
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Unable to update recovery

After a long string of flashing failures with this device, I'm needing to update the recovery.

Unfortunately after it let me downgrade the recovery, no matter what recovery I flash (CWM latest or TWM) for the HTC One X, the god damn older version is still there.

I've tried updating it through One X One Click and CWM itself. But I have no idea what's going wrong or what's needed to be done.

[Edit]
Okay, it seemed to install with no errors this time.

Now I just have to figure out why the heck it always displays "HTC quietly brilliant" forever.
There's just so much love on this forum, it makes me want to cry.
 
lukes91
Old
#2  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 865
Posts: 1,469
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisando View Post
After a long string of flashing failures with this device, I'm needing to update the recovery.

Unfortunately after it let me downgrade the recovery, no matter what recovery I flash (CWM latest or TWM) for the HTC One X, the god damn older version is still there.

I've tried updating it through One X One Click and CWM itself. But I have no idea what's going wrong or what's needed to be done.

[Edit]
Okay, it seemed to install with no errors this time.

Now I just have to figure out why the heck it always displays "HTC quietly brilliant" forever.
so, which recovery did you install? which rom are you trying to install?
HTC One X - HBoot 1.39 - Philz 5.15.9 - ViperX 4.0.7 - lyapota's #23 LM UV - Mr Hofs Chocolate Orange
Did I help you? Hit THANKS
 
Muksleo
Old
#3  
Muksleo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 76
Join Date: Feb 2013
Recovery. Img is to be flashed through fastboot and not in recovery itself
Go in your fastboot folder
Open cmd there and give commands
Fastboot flash recovery recoveryname.img
Fastboot erase cache
And you're good to go :thumbup:

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
 
Kverdoodt
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hello,

I have the same problem;
I was on recovery CMW 6.0.4.4. I tried to update to 6.0.4.5 or philz. Fastboot says okay after install, but when I restart to recovery, recovery is still 6.0.4.4.
What I haven't done is erase cache. Could this be it? Cannot try for the moment because I'm at work.

Thanks
 
lukes91
Old
#5  
lukes91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 865
Posts: 1,469
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kverdoodt View Post
Hello,

I have the same problem;
I was on recovery CMW 6.0.4.4. I tried to update to 6.0.4.5 or philz. Fastboot says okay after install, but when I restart to recovery, recovery is still 6.0.4.4.
What I haven't done is erase cache. Could this be it? Cannot try for the moment because I'm at work.

Thanks
yes, it might be... try to flash again recovery and to erase cache after OKAY message...
HTC One X - HBoot 1.39 - Philz 5.15.9 - ViperX 4.0.7 - lyapota's #23 LM UV - Mr Hofs Chocolate Orange
Did I help you? Hit THANKS
 
Kverdoodt
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2012
I tried it again with fastboot and than erase cache : doesn't work
Than I copied the recovery zip file to sdcard and installed it through clockworkmod recovery 6.0.4.4. Everything installed ok but when I reboot recovery it is still 6.0.4.4?

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#7  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 7485
Posts: 12,296
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
The zip is of no use, the recovery.img has to be flashed via fastboot (s-on devices have no other choice) try to flash a different recovery to check that works. Maybe the recovery is a bad download
 
Kverdoodt
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2012
I've found the solution.
It was a problem with my fastboot extension.

Thanks anyway

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more