Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,001 Members 39,938 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Swapping Internal to External SD

Tip us?
 
Snikeer
Old
(Last edited by Snikeer; 5th February 2014 at 04:39 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Swapping Internal to External SD

I have done it before, a while ago, but recently formatted my Razr I, and I can't seem to do it anymore. Every single flasheable mod/script is either unavailable or not working, all throughout Google's grasp.

I remember that before, my internal SD was not acessible as an storage device, and would just be used as /data. That setting was perfect for me, and my external SD would show as the only storage device on the phone.
*Edit* I know it would not exactly swap, but it would allow install data to be on internal, and all additional files (such as big game content) to be on external

I have tried messing around with vold.fstab, but it was no good. The only uncommented line is the following:
Code:
dev_mount sdcard /storage/sdcard0 auto /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:04.0/mmc_host/mmc1 /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.3/gadget/lun0
And it apparently belongs to my external SD, since messing with it only made my external SD as blank. Still, internal storage would show as normal.

Does anyone have any working solution for that? And also, why did everything regarding this subject got removed?

*Edit* Managed to succesfully swap using Root External 2 Internal SD app, but not really the solution I was looking for. However, if no one can help me with it, it'll have to do =/
 
Snikeer
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2012
Anyone? I'm still really in need for that solution.
 
Lucki_X
Old
#3  
Lucki_X's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 230
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Poděbrady
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snikeer View Post
Anyone? I'm still really in need for that solution.
Try infiniROM from arman68 it's exactly what you want.

Odesláno z mého XT890
The Following User Says Thank You to Lucki_X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
arman68
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 204
Posts: 256
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucki_X View Post
Try infiniROM from arman68 it's exactly what you want.

Odesláno z mého XT890
Yes, it requires modifications to the kernel. I have been waiting for a stable kernel from Omar-Avelar to update it, and it looks like the 4.x branch might become a good option soon.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to arman68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Snikeer
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thanks a lot! Exactly what I needed!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes