Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,124 Members 45,392 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Need Help] Bootloop after changing font {Solved}

Tip us?
 
Dead-neM
Old
(Last edited by Dead-neM; 13th February 2014 at 01:04 AM.) Reason: Solved
#1  
Dead-neM's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Default [Need Help] Bootloop after changing font {Solved}

Grrr I going to cry

Ok guys so i change the font using an app and after reboot the device get stuck at bootanimation.
The problem is that i can't have acces to system partition so i'm afraid my mojo is softbrick....

i try to update the device using fastboot command (c:/sdk/fastboot update c:/mojo.zip) but i got the "waiting for device" even when it is pluged

Do you have any idea of what i can do to revert the android ttf to stock ??

[Edit] Ok i have to thanks again Paul OBrien for his root method because i simply edit is own boot.img by adding in the superboot folder the stock font and addind line to the script to put it in the right folder and set correct permissions. I go into fastboot, flash reboot and it's finaly repair
AH AH AH AH AH AH AH AH AH
 
Dead-neM
Old
#2  
Dead-neM's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
[Edit] i think if someone could make a system.img with just the stock font in it or the stock system.img i should probably able to flash it
 
mherma
Old
#3  
mherma's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wheatfield, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead-neM View Post
[Edit] i think if someone could make a system.img with just the stock font in it or the stock system.img i should probably able to flash it
Idk. Maybe try rooting it and see if you can get it to boot. It's very easy to root if you haven't done so already.
 
Dead-neM
Old
#4  
Dead-neM's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Quote:
Originally Posted by mherma View Post
Idk. Maybe try rooting it and see if you can get it to boot. It's very easy to root if you haven't done so already.
it's already rooted. I don't know want you wanna do at boot
 
willdj79
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead-neM View Post
Grrr I going to cry

Ok guys so i change the font using an app and after reboot the device get stuck at bootanimation.
The problem is that i can't have acces to system partition so i'm afraid my mojo is softbrick....

i try to update the device using fastboot command (c:/sdk/fastboot update c:/mojo.zip) but i got the "waiting for device" even when it is pluged

Do you have any idea of what i can do to revert the android ttf to stock ??
I know reading in one of the other threads in the mojo general forum that someone took theirs apart and there is 3 buttons inside. You might see if you can locate that thread on how to disassemble it and try holding down on a button while plugging it in. There is no known documentation on what they do but if your bricked what could it hurt.
 
Dead-neM
Old
#6  
Dead-neM's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Quote:
Originally Posted by willdj79 View Post
I know reading in one of the other threads in the mojo general forum that someone took theirs apart and there is 3 buttons inside. You might see if you can locate that thread on how to disassemble it and try holding down on a button while plugging it in. There is no known documentation on what they do but if your bricked what could it hurt.
Yes i see that in forum but i don't want to open it because it's avoid the warranty

i repair the mojo by an other method i'll update the thread soon thanks
 
gwaldo
Old
#7  
gwaldo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 201
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Melb.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead-neM View Post
Yes i see that in forum but i don't want to open it because it's avoid the warranty

i repair the mojo by an other method i'll update the thread soon thanks
I think rooting it voids the warranty?? which is why I don't get how MC can advertise instructions on their website.
You should raise a support request with them on their site.
Hopefully kitkat is around soon.
Good luck!
 
Mad Catz Rich
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 87
Join Date: Dec 2013
We've decided to take an open stance on rooting - it's your box to do with as you wish. Of course the obvious caveats apply that you run the risk of causing boot issues, as Dead-neM has found!

Dead-neM in the interests of sharing, could you detail exactly what changes you made to the script and exactly what you did so it's explicitly spelled out for anyone else who runs into the same issue?
The Following User Says Thank You to Mad Catz Rich For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vostok4
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 75
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yeah, how do you mount the superboot.img and modify the contents?
 
Dead-neM
Old
#10  
Dead-neM's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Ok this what i have do exactly hope it can be helpfull so:

1/ Have cygwin + Android kitchen tool on your pc ( This software is use to decompile the boot.img and it can be find into xda forum ) So open it decompile the boot.img of Paul Obrien MmM3 ( Kitchen can't decompile boot if it have not system.img too so i decompile first the 110ww official zip rom and replace the boot img by the Paul Obrien's )

2/Go onto the folder of the decompile Boot.img : So open /boot.img-ramdisk/superboot/ there is a superboot.sh script open it

You can see all command. What you have to do is to put yours before the 3 last line ( mount -o ro, remount -t ext4 ........)

I type { cat /superboot/Clockopia.ttf>/system/fonts/Clockopia.ttf
cat /superboot/Roboto-Regular.ttf>/system/fonts/Roboto-Regular.ttf
chmod 777 /system/fonts/clockopia.ttf
chmod 777 /system/fonts/Roboto-Regular }

cat is used to move file and chmod to set permission

3/ Now i said to the boot img to replace file and set permission to it i need to put the file into the boot.img folder so i just copy the Clockopia and Roboto font into superboot folder

4/Now you can recompile the boot img using kitchen then flash it using Paul Obrien script

Enjoy i think you can put gapps with this method so if there is a courageous one here your welcome !!

The Following User Says Thank You to Dead-neM For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more