Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Problems using Blank Store

OP boondiordna

10th February 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hi folks,

I'm trying to keep my Fairphone free of googleApps (because, you know, $reasons), but as usual it's not that easy.

I am struggeling to get NoGApps working. First of all: kudos to @MaR-V-iN - I don't have a paypal account, but I could invite you for a Kölsch next time I'm in the area.

Can anybody review my steps and possibly describe how to get it running properly?

0. installed OI File Manager (to be able to access the internal partition)

1.1. downloaded μg v1.3.2 (NetworkLocation.apg)
1.2. ( tried to copy to /system/app/NetworkLocation.apk - to no avail: "... could not be copied")
1.3. installed NetworkLocation, allowed access in XPrivacy popup, rebooted.
1.4. downloaded cells-world.db, renamed to cells.db, moved it to /sdcard/.nogapps/cells.db
1.5 tried to find any sign of the application. (Found nothing.)

Sadly, Network location does not show up, anywhere. Am I looking in the wrong places?

2.1. downloaded Blank Store 0.6.6 (BlankStore.apk)
2.2. (renamed it to com.android.vending.apk, tried to copy it to /system/app/com.android.vending.apk - no success.)
2.3. renamed again, installed BlankStore.apk, allowed access in XPrivacy popups, rebooted.
2.4. downloaded android-checkin-1.0.jar and bla.bat, copied them to the location of java.exe, generated an android ID.
2.5. went to menu [Settings]{Accounts}
2.5.1 entered (dedicated...) google credentials and android ID,
2.5.2 entered slightly changed credentials that @DSoundso mentioned (SDK should be 17, I think. I also used a German carrier's MCC-MNC).
2.5.3 rebooted.
2.6 opened BlankStore: yay, I can search it. But I can't install any app: it crashes constantly.

I should mention that the Account settings were gone several times, so the BlankStore would close immediately. I had to re-enter them, and tried also exactly the credentials @DSoundso mentioned in the NOGAPPS thread.

I can't "sync" the account under [Settings]{Accounts}{Sync}. It just "says Sync is OFF", "sync now" does not seem to work.
I logged into the google account on a desktop PC, and no devices show up. ("No active devices").

So, the next steps are unfinished:
3.1. downloaded Maps API v1 (nogapps-maps.zip)
3.2. tried to download via Blank store: BusyBox, TWRP, TitaniumBackup. (BlankStore crashes.)
...to be continued?


Can anybody walk me through?
Or at least single out any errors I made above?
11th February 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hey, did you have a look at the XDA-Wiki section about installing the Blank Store? Following this step-by-step should hopefully install the Blank Store

I am too avoiding the Google Apps and also installed the maps successfully (didn't try NetworkLocation yet) and your problems with "could not be copied" sound like a problem with the user rights.. I'm not sure how your file manager works but the with the Android SDK (see above link) and the right commands it should work.

As far as the crashes of the Blank Store are concerned: at first mine also didn't start and crashed, which was caused by the missing Store account but as it sounds yours IS starting but then not really functioning, right? :|
Last edited by arghwhymustiregister; 11th February 2014 at 06:26 PM.
12th February 2014, 12:52 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by arghwhymustiregister

Hey, did you have a look at the XDA-Wiki section [...] As far as the crashes of the Blank Store are concerned: at first mine also didn't start and crashed, which was caused by the missing Store account but as it sounds yours IS starting but then not really functioning, right? :|

Thanks, I gave that a try yesterday. 1.7 gb download, what a mess... But solved the problem: it was a rights issue. I was under the impression that the OI File Manager had superuser rights. I was wrong. Got BlankStore working now, but it crashes still quite often on download.

I'm still not sure what to make of it. As I said, it *seemd* to be working before as well, but *no* download was finished. Now, *some* finish their dl, and if they don't I get an error notification (was missing before).

However, whenever I try to load a paid app, the BankStore crashes instantly.
I tried to read the whole NOGAPPS thread and realised: it only works for free apps. And I already redeemed a gift card at the Play Store to buy a paid Titanium Backup version. ****e, I'm stupid.

Still, it would be nice if it would not crash, or at least tell me it would crash when trying to load a paid app.

Also, I still can't see any active device when logging into the account on the web. Any ideas there? Is that supposed to be like this?
(Funny enough, I *can* see which apps I downloaded through BlankStore.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by arghwhymustiregister

also installed the maps successfully (didn't try NetworkLocation yet)

It seems both are not working properly for me. OSMAnd can find it's position by GPS. Offi is working, but can not find a location (GPS turned on). Also in Offi Stations, 'Acquiring location' never gets finished. The map stays blank in landscape mode. I would very much appreciate it if you would report your status here: if you can get it to work, how - and if not, what $reasons do you assume?
13th February 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
The permissions are not the problem. /system has to be mounted writable.

Sent from my FP1 using xda app-developers app
13th February 2014, 04:31 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
permissions for Offi / Maps Api access?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elchi1234

The permissions are not the problem. /system has to be mounted writable.

Thanks for pointing that out, @elchi1234. I'm not used to work on linux-like systems, but I'm eager to learn.

However, I assume this could have something to do with permissions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by boondiordna

Offi is working, but can not find a location (GPS turned on). Also in Offi Stations, 'Acquiring location' never gets finished. The map stays blank in landscape mode.

I tried to figure out why Offi is not showing any map. It seems like it's trying to DL / access map tiles and not getting access, which sometimes even causes crashes:

Code:
W/MapsAPI ( 5201): MapTileDownloader: Problem downloading MapTile: /17/65535/65535 HTTP response: HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden
According to the crash report, this happens with every tile the app is trying to access.
Did I mess up somehere?
13th February 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Nice to hear that the Blank Store is now working for you.

Hm, that problem with Öffi sounds familiar to me - I seem to recall that I had these problems too.. since you could install those Apps it looks like your installation of the map files was succesful. I think you should try the GPS fix mentioned here. It really helps A LOT (or did you already do that..?)

Report back!
Last edited by arghwhymustiregister; 13th February 2014 at 05:41 PM.
13th February 2014, 07:25 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Well, the MapsAPI seems to be installed correctly. (It was never working for me, too. I use it for that apps that require it but don't really need it.)
I would guess that there is a change in the API of the webserver that MapsAPI doesn't know about.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes