How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] T999N Rooting

OP NexusS4gFreak

13th February 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Okayy ive searched around and looked through ALL the threads and guides on rooting this phone and even followed some but im still stuck. Yes ive read and searched before asking so now im asking, is there any thorough guide or youtube vid maybe that shows how to properly apply full root to the T999N version of the galaxy s3 on metropcs? Im updated to 4.3 btw. Please no sarcasm/smart remarks
13th February 2014, 11:40 PM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,725
 
7,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Did you try Root66 4.3 version ?

Best if you can flash a Custom Recovery via Odin and then flash SuperSU package through that Recovery.
14th February 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Did you try Root66 4.3 version ?

Best if you can flash a Custom Recovery via Odin and then flash SuperSU package through that Recovery.

Ive tried to flash the recovery through odin but even though the box says PASS and reboots my phone, when i go into recovery mode it takes me to stock android recovery. I need help
14th February 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #4  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,725
 
7,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Make sure that Recovery is compatible with your phone. Second post the complete odin log for that process.
14th February 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have it rooted now, just have to figure out a way to update twrp without removing root
14th February 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Make sure that Recovery is compatible with your phone. Second post the complete odin log for that process.

I have it rooted now, just have to figure out a way to update twrp without removing root
15th February 2014, 12:37 AM   |  #7  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,725
 
7,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Take least TWRP and Flash via Odin.
The Following User Says Thank You to Perseus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 02:27 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Riverdale,GA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
883 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Where can I find the MK7 kernel, that's the only way I can get wifi to work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes