Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

No 5.1-channel surround audio

OP AmigaWolf

7th February 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
As long as the TV shows and movies you're watching are outputting Dolby Digital or PCM then you're fine.
9th February 2014, 12:57 PM   |  #12  
AmigaWolf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Catz Rich

As long as the TV shows and movies you're watching are outputting Dolby Digital or PCM then you're fine.

Come on will you, ALL TV shows and Movies are Dolby digital and DTS and more, and Dolby digital is not 5.1 on the Mad Catz M.O.J.O. only Stereo.
10th February 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Did you try the test file I linked you to on Dolby's site? I assume you did and found that you got 5.1 sound from it. I certainly did - just like I did from the PCM test file that you linked. If you did then that shows you that Dolby Digital sound is working on MOJO - the next step is for you to confirm the exact audio that's encoded on the files that you're using. If they're DTS then you will get stereo, but if they're correctly encoded in either 5.1 Dolby Digital (remember that there is also such a thing as Dolby Digital 2.0!) or PCM then you'll get 5.1 sound.

For DTS encoded files where you're only getting stereo I'll bet your amp features an option to enable Dolby Pro Logic IIx on the stereo signal which, in my experience, creates a surprisingly effective surround effect.
10th February 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #14  
AmigaWolf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Catz Rich

Did you try the test file I linked you to on Dolby's site? I assume you did and found that you got 5.1 sound from it. I certainly did - just like I did from the PCM test file that you linked. If you did then that shows you that Dolby Digital sound is working on MOJO - the next step is for you to confirm the exact audio that's encoded on the files that you're using. If they're DTS then you will get stereo, but if they're correctly encoded in either 5.1 Dolby Digital (remember that there is also such a thing as Dolby Digital 2.0!) or PCM then you'll get 5.1 sound.

For DTS encoded files where you're only getting stereo I'll bet your amp features an option to enable Dolby Pro Logic IIx on the stereo signal which, in my experience, creates a surprisingly effective surround effect.

Strange because the MKV movie(s) i played that had AC3 5.1 (is Dolby digital) played in Stereo, and yes i have Dolby Pro Logic IIx, but DTS or DTS-HD Master sounds MUCH better then Dolby Pro Logic IIx.

But it doesn't matter, i do not have the MadCatz M.O.J.O. anymore, it went back to the store.

But why do you sell a Android TV Box that has no video players installed on it, with Codec packs so you can hear sound if you play Movies with Dolby
Digital, Dolby TrueHD and DTS, DTS-HD Master, that is very strange.

All and i mean all the Android TV Boxes out of china have them already installed, so that it works good on there Hardware.

Like the very popular MINIX NEO X5 and MINIX NEO X7, and MeLE M9 and MeLE A1000G.

And yes gaming on then is the same as on the MadCatz M.O.J.O., you buy a PS3 GPS3CT01 (Gamepad) for $14.00 at tinydeal, and can play all the
games that has Gamepad support, and more with a air mouse, that comes with the Android TV Boxes.
11th February 2014, 10:05 AM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
MOJO is a completely open system onto which you can install any media player that you like. We do make recommendations (such as linking to the apk for MXPlayer on our getting started site, linked on the homescreen of MOJO) but ultimately it's your box to do with as you wish.

Regarding gaming being the same, well that's already not true with a lot of the latest games coming out and the gap is only going to get wider with some of the apps we know are coming this year.
13th February 2014, 06:24 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Update: we've been talking to the guys at XBMC and this looks like an issue with the pass-through function in XBMC on Android. We'll update once we have a solution - in the meantime the pass-through function works fine in MXPlayer.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mad Catz Rich For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #17  
AmigaWolf's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 166
 
532 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Catz Rich

Update: we've been talking to the guys at XBMC and this looks like an issue with the pass-through function in XBMC on Android. We'll update once we have a solution - in the meantime the pass-through function works fine in MXPlayer.

Ok then, but can you please buy a DTS pass so that we can hear all the audio codecs, just like MeLE and VidOn has don?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes